Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

3 Dimensional Chat / help with model exporting

Author
Message
flaming chainsaw
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jan 2011
Location: NARNIA, BRB GOING TO A LAND OF ADVENTURE
Posted: 7th Jun 2012 10:22
im using blender 2.63a and every time i export my model the faces are like an inside out like form, i exported all the file types to export from blender and the faces are either missing terribly or some are missing but are inside out its ruining my progress

heres what im talking about(problem areas are circled)

imported a FBX export from blender into 3DS Max 2012



imported FBX export from blender into fragmotion





.blend > .FBX > imported to programe

its in FBX format because the least faces are screwed up

NEED HELP ANY HELP GREATLY APPRECIATED


computer specs: ASUS,Win7 x64, AMD Phenom II X6 1035T Processor, ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series, 2600 Mhz, 6 Cores, 6 Logical Processors, 8 Gig RAM, 1 Terabyte Memory, I am a happy child
zeroSlave
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jun 2009
Location: Springfield
Posted: 8th Jun 2012 05:06 Edited at: 8th Jun 2012 05:06
I'm not sure what the solution is for exporting with Blender, but you might look into Face "Normals". The Normal information tells which direction the face is rendered from. FYI: I believe that the normal information comes from how the 3 XYZ vertices are stored in the file. If they are stored in a clockwise rotation, they will face one way, while counter-clockwise will face the other way.

I found: http://www.blender.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=18691&sid=53c31b5ce8fc37bd8b292de20b848a73

psullie says:
Quote: "did you try checking the box for Normals in the export dialog. The default is High Quality Normal - On and Normals - Off. This works for me."


Maybe that will help. Good luck!

Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.
flaming chainsaw
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jan 2011
Location: NARNIA, BRB GOING TO A LAND OF ADVENTURE
Posted: 8th Jun 2012 08:58
ZeroSlave, the face normals were the problem, thanks now i just have to go thru and select and compare the accual model and the exported one unless im doing it the hard way but ill figure it out, thank you

computer specs: ASUS,Win7 x64, AMD Phenom II X6 1035T Processor, ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series, 2600 Mhz, 6 Cores, 6 Logical Processors, 8 Gig RAM, 1 Terabyte Memory, I am a happy child
Ortu
DBPro Master
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Nov 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posted: 9th Jun 2012 02:02
easiest is to look over the model before exporting using display face normals:

http://img526.imageshack.us/img526/7553/facenormals.jpg

and then flip selected faces with w key -> flip normals

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2022-12-06 09:39:12
Your offset time is: 2022-12-06 09:39:12