Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Compiler sometimes doesn't compile

Author
Message
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 24th Jun 2012 01:10
I know I'm not nuts.

But, sometimes, when I click on the yellow gear icon to build my app, it doesn't actually do it. The bytecode file doesn't get rebuilt.

Even when I've made changes to one of the code files.

The only way to ensure that it does build is to delete the <appname>.byc, SourceCode.agc and SourceCode.txt files in the media directory.

A bit of a pain.

I know it's not compiling when messages pop up that were removed between compiles.

And, sometimes, if I click on the green run arrow, after building the app (and sometimes even running it from a desktop link), when there have been no changes to any of the code files, it says that my source has changed and would I like to build it.

This one comes from the build basically just copying the prebuilt Windows player and never actually building that. So, the player has an old date compared to the code files.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
george++
AGK Tool Maker
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th May 2007
Location: Thessaloniki, Hellas
Posted: 24th Jun 2012 01:53
Quote: "when I click on the yellow gear icon"

Pressing so many times some buttons I catch my self to think of these like real!
I am sorry for being a bit off topic but I can't help with a tip.
Hodgey
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Oct 2009
Location: Australia
Posted: 24th Jun 2012 02:06
Quote: "And, sometimes, if I click on the green run arrow, after building the app (and sometimes even running it from a desktop link), when there have been no changes to any of the code files, it says that my source has changed and would I like to build it."

I've received this message when I've changed the project folder name. I'm not sure what else triggers it but it might be worth opening up the project file (in notepad or something) and making sure all of the paths/file names in there are consistent with what is actually in the project folder.

Quote: "But, sometimes, when I click on the yellow gear icon to build my app, it doesn't actually do it. "

I haven't come across this myself. Do you save before compiling each time? I know it's not (or shouldn't be) necessary but I do anyway. I like to have all of the 'yellow markings' turned to green before hitting the compile button.

Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 24th Jun 2012 03:29
Quote: "Do you save before compiling each time?"


Absolutely! I've been doing this a long time and have been bitten enough times in different environments to make sure that I save any file after editing more than one line (and even on every line, sometimes).

Quote: "I like to have all of the 'yellow markings' turned to green before hitting the compile button."

I've never ever seen the yellow gear change color. Or any other icon in the AppGameKit IDE.

Done for the night. I've hit the 'enough tequila to be banned from email, phone calls and forum posting' stage.

Cheers!

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
Hodgey
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Oct 2009
Location: Australia
Posted: 24th Jun 2012 03:50
Quote: "Absolutely! I've been doing this a long time and have been bitten enough times in different environments to make sure that I save any file after editing more than one line (and even on every line, sometimes)."

Well, I'm not sure what's causing it then. I hope you find a fix for it though.

Quote: "I've never ever seen the yellow gear change color. "

What I meant was the yellow/green bars near the line numbers.

Have a good night!

MrValentine
AGK Backer
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 24th Jun 2012 10:20
What system are you using and it sounds likely to be a UAC issue... And potentially a DEP one too...

Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 24th Jun 2012 18:17
I have UAC totally disabled on all my computers. It is the very first thing I do whenever I install/reinstall a Windows box.

And their are no permission issues elsewhere.

It doesn't not compile all the time, just once in a while. Just enough to notice when I'm testing something.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
MrValentine
AGK Backer
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 25th Jun 2012 12:53
employ DEP as the copile stage plays funny with memory write access stuff, a bit beyond me, I have a tutorial on DEP if you need it...

Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 25th Jun 2012 17:14
What is DEP?

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
MrValentine
AGK Backer
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 26th Jun 2012 07:37
Kevin Picone
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: Australia
Posted: 26th Jun 2012 08:15
Might be caused from something external such as anti virus software. Where the AV might be accessing the file when AppGameKit needs to.

MrValentine
AGK Backer
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 26th Jun 2012 13:15
Oh yeah there is a tutorial on that on my page link above too at the beginning of my tutorial I think...

Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 26th Jun 2012 20:07
Thanks for the DEP info. I've been working with Windows a long time and that is the first I've seen of it.

As best I can tell, that is not causing my problem.

Since it builds sometimes and not others, it shouldn't be the basic computer setup.

I suspect the fact that my main.agc file is now including 21 other files might be upsetting the AppGameKit IDE just a little.

I had an interesting set of bugs pop up depending on the order of the include files. Not a repeatable one, of course.

I might be challenging the IDE just a little bit.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
MrValentine
AGK Backer
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 26th Jun 2012 20:49
You are welcome...

BTW, DEP is ideal to get old games working too ^^ just sometimes...

Try the antivirus exception too...

Grook
AGK Backer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jun 2012
Location: Lancashire, England
Posted: 28th Jun 2012 20:42
You're not going mad Ancient Lady - I know I have seen this issue myself. I compile very often - mostly to check I have my syntax correct. I know that sometimes a debug message I've just added doesn't pop up so I compile again (without changing any source or saving any files) and the debug message executes so I'm sure it didn't compile the first time.
It seems to happen in bursts, I can go hours without it occurring then it does it off and on frequently then goes away again. I was wondering if it was anything to do with the timestamps - perhaps the granularity, does it only check if a file has changed by looking at the hour or minute or something? Or does the compile instruction force a re-compile every time and it's just something weird happening - I don't know. Not a major issue, just a bit irritating!

"Happiness is contrary to the human condition" --White (to Black)
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 28th Jun 2012 21:26
Grook, thank you.

I knew I wasn't nuts and I couldn't think of anything in my Windows configuration that was causing the sporadic problem.

I'll just live with it.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 29th Jun 2012 20:06
I discovered today that sometimes the IDE doesn't update the media/SourceCode.agc time stamp (even when the code updates) and that might be why it doesn't do the full compile to byte code.

This might also be related to why the IDE sometimes doesn't clean up its temporary files.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 30th Jun 2012 00:16
Okay, I tried some experiments.

I deleted the SourceCode.txt/.agc and the <projname>.byc/.exe files, closed the AppGameKit IDE and rebooted my computer.

Then I compiled the app using the yellow gear button. All the relevant files in the media directory were created with the same created and modified time stamps.

Then I modified a file (removed some unneeded comments and added 'Sync()' as the very first line in main.agc) and compiled the app. All three files showed a new modified time, but the created time was still the first one. But, in the Windows file manager only showed the modified time stamp for the SourceCode.txt file in the date column (which the files were sorted on).

I deleted the three files from the media directory (and emptied my Recycle Bin), deleted the unneeded Sync() command and compiled. The created time stamp did not change, but the modified one did. Somehow the IDE 'remembered' the original creation date and applied it to the files that it just created.

I reordered my include list, deleted, cleared trash, compiled. Now it reset the created time stamp.

I deleted, cleared, compiled (without any changes to any of the code files). The modified time stamp was correct, but not the created one.

Somehow the IDE hangs onto information about the files, even when they aren't there. Curious.

Apparently the Windows file manager only shows the modified time stamp for .txt files. It shows the created time stamp for .agc and .byc files. What the huh?

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester
Marl
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2011
Location: Bradford, UK
Posted: 30th Jun 2012 05:55 Edited at: 30th Jun 2012 05:56
Quote: "Apparently the Windows file manager only shows the modified time stamp for .txt files. It shows the created time stamp for .agc and .byc files. What the huh?"

There's definitely something weird going on with your system, you should have both created and modified for all file types.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Grumpy Jedi
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 30th Jun 2012 07:11
This sounds to me like it could be related to the codeblocks configuration file which is named default.conf and resides somewhere in your documents folder under application data\codeblocks.

I was having a problem a while back where the compiler wouldn't compile anything for any reason. It kept telling me nothing had changed and there was nothing to compile even though I had just made changes to the code.

I shutdown AppGameKit, deleted the default.conf file and restarted and then everything worked fine.

Perhaps your problem is related to the config file as well.
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 2nd Jul 2012 20:54
Marl, my file manager columns are set to only show the modified date stamp. When I click on a file, the details at the bottom show both values.

What I meant was that, under the "Date Modified" column, for the .byc and .agc file, it is displaying the created time stamp instead of the modified time stamp.

It's possible Windows, not recognizing the file types, doesn't 'know' to look for a modified time. I don't know and don't really care. I'm used to Windows doing weird sh**t and just go with it.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-23 17:14:04
Your offset time is: 2024-11-23 17:14:04