Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / Raspberry Pi vs Cubieboard. Which to buy?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 11th Oct 2012 06:44 Edited at: 11th Oct 2012 06:46
Hello everyone!

I'm in need of a little help here deciding which platform to go with. I am aware of both their pros and cons, yet I can not decide which one to go with as I have no experience with neither of the two. I want to get into Linux and robotics in general.

Raspberry Pi costs $35 for the model B version. Runs on a 700MHz Broadcom ARMV6K which can be overclocked to 1.0GHz, safely, from what I have heard. It runs many popular Linux distributions and has a very large community.

The Cubieboard, on the other hand, costs $49. Runs on a 1GHz AllWinner A10 Coretex A8 processor and can easily be overclocked up to 1.5GHz. It features a Sata port, (HUGE PLUS FOR ME) has 4GB of flash storage, and has 1GB of DDR3 ram.

The disadvantages that the RPi has are that it`s running on older hardware, has lesser memory, you need a SDCard for the Linux image and anything stored on it. The only advantage I am seeing is the strong community support and amount of resources available for the platform.

The disadvantage that the Cubieboard has is that it just shipped its beta boards, and lacks the community support which the RPi has. The advantages are great though. It has a faster processor, more RAM, AND a Sata port, as well as built in 4 GB of flash memory.

I just wanted to know which one is more 'future proof.'

So yeah, any input on this? Which would be a better investment and why?

Abdul Ahad

MrValentine
AGK Backer
Years of Service
User Offline
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 11th Oct 2012 13:27 Edited at: 11th Oct 2012 13:31