Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / 3D Texture Transparency?

Author
Message
Gibbon28
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Oct 2012
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posted: 1st Nov 2012 17:05
Hi, just wondering if it is yet possible to have transparent textures on objects yet?

Thanks
Andy
Paul Johnston
TGC Developer
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 1st Nov 2012 17:38
This will be in the next version
Gibbon28
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Oct 2012
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posted: 1st Nov 2012 17:43 Edited at: 1st Nov 2012 17:55
Ok thanks. Any ETA on the next version?

Edit: The reason i ask is becasue im trying to create a shadow of some description?

Is there any shadow features set for the next version?

Or is there any way i could createon in 108?

Edit2: Also do any of the advertised collision commands work in 108?

Thanks
Andy
Paul Johnston
TGC Developer
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 1st Nov 2012 21:28
Quote: "Any ETA on the next version?"


Not yet.

Quote: "Is there any shadow features set for the next version?"


No.

Quote: "Also do any of the advertised collision commands work in 108?"


Yes, all the current collision commands work.
MikeMax
AGK Academic Backer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2011
Location: Paris
Posted: 1st Nov 2012 22:50
Could it be possible to have a sample 3D Scene with a lightmap on it ? i have tried to take some parts from the FE FPS Code in AppGameKit 1082 and it seems that multitexturing doesn't work...
Gibbon28
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Oct 2012
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posted: 1st Nov 2012 23:17 Edited at: 2nd Nov 2012 00:03
Is there any chance of having some code on collisions?

Its even a to difficult to BETA test or return feedback when your guessing at commands and usage?

Ive tried all different ways of making collisions work and having no luck, as i thought it is no doubt down to my code, but like i said... its guess work?

Same for raycasting commands...

Edit:
Even just command parameter explanations would help.

SetObjectCollisionMode( objID, mode ) Modes?
SetObjectImage( objID, imageID, texStage )texStage?
SetObjectLightMode( objID, mode )Modes?

Also.. what are the specifics for shaders?
LoadShader( shaderID, szVertexFile, szPixelFile )

Edit: Ive managed to load in some openGL shaders, but apply them to objects makes the objects invisible?

What shaders are allowed?

Thanks
Andy
Gibbon28
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Oct 2012
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posted: 2nd Nov 2012 12:30
HI, just an update to say i seem to have got collision working, so really now its just the shader info im after.

Ive wrote some openGL shaders inthe past and really fancy giving some a go for use in AGK.

But even simple openGL ES shaders dont seem to work?

I can load them, but any object that i apply them two just becomes invisible, but remains active.

Thanks
Andy
MikeMax
AGK Academic Backer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2011
Location: Paris
Posted: 2nd Nov 2012 13:48
Quote: "Edit: Ive managed to load in some openGL shaders, but apply them to objects makes the objects invisible?"


Same thing here
Paul Johnston
TGC Developer
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 2nd Nov 2012 16:01
Can you post the shaders here and I'll take a look
Gibbon28
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Oct 2012
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posted: 2nd Nov 2012 16:31
Well here is a very basic one, just for test purposes but others ive tried have same results.

wouldnt it be better for us to know the specifics of what shaders we can use?

Is it just standard GLSL shaders for ES 2.0?

vert


frag


Thanks
Andy
Paul Johnston
TGC Developer
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 2nd Nov 2012 16:43 Edited at: 2nd Nov 2012 16:44
OpenGL ES 2.0 no longer supports any of the standard definitions like gl_ProjectionMatrix so AppGameKit defines some of its own. This will need some documentation but it's still in development. Here is a sample shader you can pull apart

Vertex:


Fragment/Pixel:


The constants/uniforms that AppGameKit will automatically fill out are
Gibbon28
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Oct 2012
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posted: 2nd Nov 2012 16:50
Hi, ok thanks. Should the shader you posted above work from the off?

As that too makes the object inviisble?

Thanks
Andy
Paul Johnston
TGC Developer
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 2nd Nov 2012 16:55
The shader above requires a texture to be assigned to the object and for the object to have UV coordinates, if it does not then you can remove the texture parts and it should display. If your object doesn't have normals you can remove the normals attribute as it isn't used anyway.
Gibbon28
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Oct 2012
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posted: 2nd Nov 2012 16:59 Edited at: 2nd Nov 2012 17:03
The object, has a texture, has normals and UV coords??

Im simply loading the shader and then applying to the object, this is correct yes, nothing else neded?

Thanks
Andy
Paul Johnston
TGC Developer
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 2nd Nov 2012 17:03
Firstly does it work if you replace the model with a primitive such as a box or sphere? If not then send me the project you are using. If it does work with a primitive then send me the model and I'll take a look.
Gibbon28
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Oct 2012
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posted: 2nd Nov 2012 17:12
Doesnt work with primative either,

Included is basic project, model and your shader.

Thanks
Andy

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Paul Johnston
TGC Developer
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 2nd Nov 2012 17:24
It works here, does the attached exe work? If so then I may have fixed something since the last version that means it will now work. If not what GPU and OS are you using?

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Gibbon28
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Oct 2012
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posted: 2nd Nov 2012 17:31
The EXE works, (just shows model as it should) so i assume the shader isnt meant to change anything?

But yes its not invisble in the exe, is there a newer beta out to what im using?

Or are you using a version not yet released?

Thanks
Andy
Paul Johnston
TGC Developer
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 2nd Nov 2012 17:34
I'm using an updated version not yet released, the shader doesn't do anything special, just textures the object.
Gibbon28
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Oct 2012
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posted: 2nd Nov 2012 17:44
Ahh right, dont suppose that version can be released anytime soon can it?

Andy

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-24 01:58:33
Your offset time is: 2024-11-24 01:58:33