Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / [Tier 2] templates

Author
Message
Matty H
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Oct 2008
Location: England
Posted: 25th Nov 2012 22:50 Edited at: 26th Nov 2012 16:00
EDIT:

I have attached the template I will be using each time I start a new project, there are instructions in the text file.

I have simplified the process a little for myself so thought I would share.

v1076 for VS2010(express).


Original post:

Looking at tier 2 for my next game.

How do you set up a new project from scratch? The help docs say to copy and rename the template, what parts should I copy and rename? Will the solution file and project file do?

What I would ideally like to do is create a fresh project in VS2010, add a property page which will include and link all my dependencies. I get the feeling it's not that simple?

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 25th Nov 2012 23:20
This assumes you are using AppGameKit v1076, because there are no templates supplied with v108<x>. I haven't tried downloading v1084 and creating a VS2010 template, but attempts to create one in the earlier v108 versions all fail due to missing dependencies. I hope to try making a v1084 one later this week. And, if I do, it will be posted in the AppGameKit Wiki.

Quote: "I get the feeling it's not that simple?"

Yes, you are right, starting from a blank VS2010 project is not very workable. There are lots of things that are needed for AppGameKit to work properly and it is easier to start from a template that works.

Go to the AppGameKit Wiki Templates page and download one of the Windows MS Visual Studio Express 2010 template zip files (they are both good and working). VS2010 Express projects can be loaded into VS2010 Pro (at least that is what I've seen elsewhere in this forum).

Unzip the file into your AGK\IDE\templates directory and it will create a directory named either template_vs10 or template_vs10_al_tweak, depending on which one you download. If you go with the vanilla template_vs10, go ahead and overwrite the existing template_vs10 directory. Or, rename your old template_vs10 directory before you unzip the zip file.

Then follow the instructions on the page from which you downloaded the template, starting at 'Making Your Project from a Template'. Try NOT put spaces in the new directory name after you copy the template directory, this may cause issues down the road.

If you expect to make multiple projects (and we all do), apply the Windows instructions under 'Fixing Directory Locations' to your downloaded template BEFORE you copy it. It can simplify things later.

Where you see things like '<yourproj>' and '<your AppGameKit dir>', you are supposed to substitute values relevant to you. On my computer, '<your AppGameKit dir>' is 'TGC\AGK', so my templates directory path is 'C:\TGC\AGK\IDE\templates'.

The instructions under 'Change Final Product and Project Name' will help you rename the relevant project bits after you have copied and renamed the template directory.

Once you have the template project set up as described on the AppGameKit Wiki Templates page, you can add all the files and libraries you want in the VS project. (My current project has more than 50 extra .cpp/.h files added to the ones in the bare template.)

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester
Matty H
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Oct 2008
Location: England
Posted: 25th Nov 2012 23:58
Thank you very much for this, all done and was very pain free I notice all the warnings I was getting have gone too so that's a bonus.

What is the deal about not being able to exit an app, I noticed all the windows 8 apps/games have no exit options, are you supposed to leave them running forever?

From what you say this is also the case with android and ios, strange

Thanks again.

bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 26th Nov 2012 09:28
You can create a T2 Windows template for 1084 easily in 5 minutes by converting the Interpreter template.

Check this thread for hints:

http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=201695&b=41
bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 26th Nov 2012 09:31
Windows8 "modern ui" apps have no exit. Windows will put your app into sleeping state when it looses focus. After a certain amount of minutes that it's not used it's freezed.

When ram and cpu resources start to decrease, windows will start to close the freezed apps.
Matty H
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Oct 2008
Location: England
Posted: 26th Nov 2012 16:03
Thanks for your help.

I have updated top post with my own version, based off Ancient Ladies tweaked version. Not much difference, just renamed 'template.cpp' to 'main.cpp' and added a text file describing a different way to start a new project.

Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 26th Nov 2012 16:09
Matty H, I'm glad I was helpful. I try.

Quote: "Windows8 "modern ui" apps have no exit."

I hate this concept. A user should always be able to manually close an app.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester
JimHawkins
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jul 2009
Location: Hull - UK
Posted: 26th Nov 2012 17:10
Quote: "I hate this concept. A user should always be able to manually close an app."


Utterly agree. The implications are horrendous if you use network sockets - because if you try to bind a port on a socket that another app (maybe a dormant app) is using, you are guaranteed to get a low-level, untrappable exception.

Usual old cobblers from Microsnot.

-- Jim DO IT FASTER, EASIER AND BETTER WITH AppGameKit FOR PASCAL
bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 26th Nov 2012 23:16
your can press alt+f4 and close the app manually instead of letting win8 kill it over time

but i think the main idea of win8 is to make things automatic for users with no IT knowledge. just go to the appstore and download & install apps with 1 click and make it near to impossible to get a virus
TrezSoft
AGK Tool Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posted: 26th Nov 2012 23:35
In Addition if you move the mouse pointer to the bottom left corner to get the menu then slide the mouse up a little it will Show all running apps, you can then right click and close.
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 28th Nov 2012 16:09
Both close options proposed by bjadams and TrezSoft work, but seem to take more effort that simply having a manual close button, menu item, something in the app. Not everyone knows about the other options.

It shouldn't take being an IT person (which is not how I would qualify myself) to use a simple exit button. The other options take a lot more know-how to use. How many people know about and use the Windows short cuts? Strangely, Windows doesn't advertise them well.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester
bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 29th Nov 2012 00:01
This is the same system that mobile OS like android and ios introduces years back.

apps keep on running in freezed mode. I don't like this personally, I prefer using an app and close it permanently
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 29th Nov 2012 15:46
Quote: "I prefer using an app and close it permanently"

I agree 110%

Quote: "This is the same system that mobile OS like android and ios introduces years back."

I'm putting an 'Exit' button in all versions of my game. If Apple and/or Android reject based on that, it only takes a one line mode to remove it.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester
bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 29th Nov 2012 19:08
99% Android won't reject it.

I would say there are big chances Apple would reject it so you might as well save some tears and just make the exit button invisible and non functional
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 29th Nov 2012 21:40
I could put it as an option for the app! Then Apple won't have to deal with it unless they go fooling with the options and decide even that is too much.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-24 05:07:34
Your offset time is: 2024-11-24 05:07:34