Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / TrackEditorV0.7 & TrackEditorV2.0

Author
Message
Le Verdier
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jan 2012
Location: In the mosh-pit
Posted: 26th Nov 2012 19:57
A spline based track editor.

It focuses on the track mesh, which can be exported to favorite 3D App (.x and .obj)





I had said I was no longer developping it but there's still some bugs I want to remove
(New in 0.7: Faster 2D, Error recovery..)

I'm also starting a new version but with a new design & complete rewrite.



Track Editor v0.7
(include demo track, help file and tutorial)

Attachments

Login to view attachments
MrValentine
AGK Backer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 27th Nov 2012 03:16 Edited at: 27th Nov 2012 03:17
That is pretty neat, just to mention, not me, I prefer .X, but Perhaps include .DBO in the next version?



EDIT

Is this using DBPro at core?

Le Verdier
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jan 2012
Location: In the mosh-pit
Posted: 27th Nov 2012 11:29
100% DBPro, with Matrix1 DLLs, Blue GUI, Advanced2D

I've chosen .obj because it was the simplest to load with Sketchup, Blender...
But any idea is welcomed for the new version..

MrValentine
AGK Backer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 27th Nov 2012 11:41
Very nice... Please post that pic to the gallery btw... And lInk this forum thread to it!!! Get it noticed!!!

Also perhaps more details about texture formats etc

paul5147
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2006
Location: Hot & Sunny
Posted: 28th Nov 2012 07:47
Nice to see you carried on with this,i keep playing around with the one i did and recently added a blueGui interface to it as well,so i know how much work this must have been.Is that a covered section of track in the bottom left,if so what did you do with the inside textures,turned off object culling or made another object inside it with a negative size?
Le Verdier
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jan 2012
Location: In the mosh-pit
Posted: 28th Nov 2012 20:01
Yes It's just the culling turned off.. but there's an option to turn it on...
it is also possible to create a true double sided face by
creating a new segment and reversing the point index in
"SegmentXStartPoint"
"SegmentXEndPoint"
in the profile editor
(e.g.
Segment1StartPoint = 1
Segment1EndPoint = 2
Segment2StartPoint = 2
Segment2EndPoint = 1
)

About the texture formats, all formats supported by dbpro: bmp dds jpg png tga
with black as transparent color.
but consider texture map just to figure out a material index in the program.
e.g. the "white grid" is used here to define an invisible collision geometry in the game...

gwheycs62egydws
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 21st Feb 2013 21:57
hi @Le Verdier

have you worked out the quirk you were having ?

I know you had this built for making race tracks
but could it be used for a road layout system for games ?

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
Le Verdier
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jan 2012
Location: In the mosh-pit
Posted: 22nd Feb 2013 12:37 Edited at: 22nd Feb 2013 12:40
Hello

Quote: "
but could it be used for a road layout system for games ?
"


Of course, The produced files can be used anywhere .obj is accepted

(.obj import snippet here)

Quote: "
have you worked out the quirk you were having ?
"

I know there many bugs left but Is there one in particular ?


I'm no longer developping it, except bug removing.. and maybe, for those interested, some kind of interface for produce AGTTC playable tracks directly..

gwheycs62egydws
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 22nd Feb 2013 16:44
@Le Verdier

the one I am currently dealing with is windows 7 which I am using
tells me when I run it

"parameters incorrect"

I have tried to run files that built in windows xp
with the same results

the only fix so far I found when that happens is to rebuild the
main exe file

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
Le Verdier
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jan 2012
Location: In the mosh-pit
Posted: 22nd Feb 2013 18:34
I have rebuilt it with rc7
just drop the new exe in the app folder

Also requires the redist71

Attachments

Login to view attachments
gwheycs62egydws
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 22nd Feb 2013 23:15
@Le Verdier

that did the trick ;o)

Just a thought you could make more use of the mouse
for zooming in and a like

I like the layout

I just have to get use to what dose what

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
gwheycs62egydws
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 10th May 2013 20:26
@Le Verdier

any more updates ?

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
Le Verdier
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jan 2012
Location: In the mosh-pit
Posted: 10th May 2013 21:17
I recently completed the the track converter for AGTTC...

What feature would you like to have added ??

If it doesnot implies a drastic change of internal data structures
maybe it can be done quickly..

Have you find bugs ?? Did you find this program useful ??

gwheycs62egydws
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 11th May 2013 23:38
@Le Verdier

well the code to load the race track that has been built
would be nice

anther thing I was thinking off
but do not know if this use "BlitzTerrain" dll

it would give the option to build roads on such

well 2nd part of thought is that I have "L3DT 13.01.0.0 Std (dev)"
it's for land creation and it can lower and raise as needed
there is part in there about loading a image of the road
so the level

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
gwheycs62egydws
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 11th May 2013 23:44
@Le Verdier

ok nicks that I see that saving a x or obj object format is there

on the other hand

3ds and dbo .. well dbo at least would be a thought

I do not known which 3d object format is the best
for saving a such

quick to load and can be set to tell anther object that it is there

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
gwheycs62egydws
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 12th May 2013 00:00
@Le Verdier

I just remembered a game from the good old dos days

in that game you could build your own race tracks

Stunts

I played bit of it way back and tried the creating of my own tracks

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
Le Verdier
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jan 2012
Location: In the mosh-pit
Posted: 12th May 2013 22:07
dbo export: I can plan this in a next update..

terrains: Maybe a "import Object" so that the track can be visually adjusted in the 3D view..
or a "load bitmap to heightfield".. something used as a helper but it would be difficult to have it "merged seamlessly" with the track (something I dream but involves relatively tedious maths..) or alter the terrain.
this software is still experimental, and I am unfortunatly quite limited by its old and specific design..

but please keep on tell me any remarks or suggests, even if cant garantee it is doable, sometime a simple idea can greatly improve things...

stunts: remind me of "Hard Drivin" an old arcade and Amiga game..

gwheycs62egydws
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 13th May 2013 01:43
@Le Verdier

I knew it was have some complexity to it

I know that if you go with what you have now
there is a limit as to how big a land mass you could have

I created a land mass 1500 x 1500
I do not know how large a that would be in real world
but it looked quite large

check out

L3DT

I know that I wanted to create a updated version
of the game stunts and this would let me do that

I've got a few other games ware roads would be needed

I will post if I think of any thing else

it seems most people prefer regular racing games not
so much of the craze roads like can be dun with what you have

to move side ways - is to move forward
Since a Strait line gets thin fast
DigitalFury
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jul 2010
Location: United States
Posted: 5th Jun 2013 01:07
If you want I can get the Track Editor (road system) working for terrain. I think you suggested it.

DigitalFury

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2022-12-09 16:39:44
Your offset time is: 2022-12-09 16:39:44