Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

iOS and MacOS / error runing template

Author
Message
joachim
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Feb 2012
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posted: 7th Jan 2013 01:22
Hi all,

I'm trying to run the template on iOS and
get Build succeded, but then I get a screen
that says

...
...
0x1d200: movl -12(%ebp), %ecx Thread 1: signal SIGABRT
...
...

would anybody (maybe Ancient Lady) know what this means ?

cheers
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 7th Jan 2013 03:13
1. What version of AppGameKit are you working with?
2. Where did you get the template?
3. Are you running in a simulator or on your actual device?

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 7th Jan 2013 03:18
Okay, now I know the version of AppGameKit you are using because you posted the same message in the AppGameKit Product Chat forum. (Please don't post exactly the same thing in more than one place.)

Still, an answer to the other questions would help.

In your other thread, you are talking about Tier 1. Do you mean 'template' as in the interpreter_ios directory or as in template_ios?

It makes a difference.

If you are using Tier 1, then you need to make sure that you have the same version of AppGameKit in both Windows and on your Mac, otherwise the byte code file will not be compatible.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
joachim
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Feb 2012
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posted: 8th Jan 2013 16:49
I'm using Tier 1 on windows because I haven't managed
to set up Tier 2 yet.
But I'm more interested in c++ since I have programms
running in Dark GDK.

Here is what I do:

first i go to "My Account"

and download "AGK Mac OS X Installer - v1076"

then I unzip and get an AppGameKit folder

in the folder I go Projects/Native/iOS/projects/Box2D-Box2D

(( why is there in "Native" iOS, Mac OS, Windows, Windows_VS2010
when i downloaded the instaler for Mac OSX ??? ))

and dubble click on Box2D-Box2D.xcodeproj.

Xcode opens and goes throu loading and indexing,

then I press "Run", it tells me "Build Succeeded"

then it opens iPad 6.0 Simulator with the AppGameKit Logo.

After this iPad simulator goes into the background and

xcode shows -

left side

AGK(Logo) Template Paused

Thread 1
...
13 AGK::agk:latformSetDevicePT...

and in the editor

...
0x1d1c0: movl -12(%ebp), %ecx Thread 1:signal SIGABRT
...


Thats all I have, I hope it helps.

Thanks
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 8th Jan 2013 17:06
The sample projects aren't referred to as templates.

When that phrase is used it specifically means the C++ bare templates in the IDE/templates sub-directories.

Edit the Classes/UntitledViewController.m file and change line 58 to read: agk::InitGL( self );

The '.view' is probably what is causing the issue.

Now, you will need to do the same fix in any of the sample programs you try to compile.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
joachim
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Feb 2012
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posted: 8th Jan 2013 19:14
Thank You sooo much Ancient Lady !!!

now I have a Start point.
( I don't think I have a general overview yet )

I can run the example projects in the simulator,
but not on my 3gs.

The error I get is

CodeSign error: code signing is required for product type
'Application' in SDK 'iOS 6.0'

would You know how to handle this, and where I can get
Informations?


Thanks again,
regards
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 8th Jan 2013 19:50
Have you signed up with Apple's iOS Developer License?

In order to run on devices, you need to have a code signing certificate (only available when you sign up with Apple) and assign it to the project in Xcode.

The sample projects will have assigned certificates from one of the developers at TGC.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
joachim
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Feb 2012
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posted: 8th Jan 2013 21:17
I have a developer license and ran apps on my phone before.

What should I do, or where should I look ?
joachim
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Feb 2012
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posted: 8th Jan 2013 21:29
oh, I'm using my new iPhone 5 now,
should the 3GS still work for development ?
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 8th Jan 2013 21:41
Click on the project name in the far left column (Project explorer sort of area), then click on the project under "PROJECT" in the center column area and click on "Build Settings" tab in the set that appears next to it. Scroll down to the "Code Signing" section and click on each one and set it you your developer certificate. Then select the project under "TARGETS" (beneath where you picked it for "PROJECT"), open the "Build Settings" tab, scroll down to "Code Signing" section and fix those as well.

The clean and rebuild and you should be able to run on your device (assuming it is registered as a development one).

This is all assuming that you have your phone and Mac physically connected.

I have not tried to install or test any other way, yet.

Quote: "should the 3GS still work for development?"

I'm not sure what you mean by this.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
tornado
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jul 2005
Location:
Posted: 9th Jan 2013 12:31
Quote: "Quote: "should the 3GS still work for development?""


If it's with regard to iPhone 3GS, this one seems to be still supported by Apple and may have iOS up to 6th version - with respective hardware limited perfomance, compared to newer iPhone models. It can be used for development and it will run AppGameKit apps, but noone can be sure about frame rate. Good way to work on app performance optimisation though

joachim
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Feb 2012
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posted: 10th Jan 2013 01:52
Thanks guys,

I have the examples working and the Code Signing
should be ok.
But,
I can still not run the examples on my iPhone.
I think I have the paths ok but still get a linker error

"Linker comment failed with exit code 1 (use -v to see invocation)
File is universal (3 slices) but does not contain a(n) armv7s slice: /Users/rojogames/Documents/AGK/IDE/platform/apple/Lib/Debug/libAGKiOS.a for architecture armv7s"

can somebody help ?

regards
tornado
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jul 2005
Location:
Posted: 10th Jan 2013 11:57 Edited at: 10th Jan 2013 11:58
joachim
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Feb 2012
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posted: 10th Jan 2013 17:21
Thats the one !

I removed it from 'Valid Architectures'
but can NOT remove it from 'Architectures' ???

it says

'(checked) Standard (armv7,armv7s) - $(ARCHS_STANDARD_32_BIT)'


cheers
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 10th Jan 2013 17:24
As long as the 'Valid Architectures' entry for both the PROJECT and TARGET (Xcode upper case, not mine) says only 'armv7', it works fine.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
joachim
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Feb 2012
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posted: 10th Jan 2013 17:39
It does NOT let me edit the fields
under 'Architectures' ???

The enties under 'Valid Architectures' are empty now.

cheers
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 10th Jan 2013 17:52
Click on the 'Architectures' entry and select 'other', than it will open up the edit box. You can delete the entry by clicking on it and then the '-' at the bottom of the dialog. And add values by clicking on the '+' at the bottom. But, since it is dependent on the value(s) in 'Valid Architectures' when the build happens, you don't need to edit it.

If you do, the best option is to delete the '$(ARCHS_STANDARD_32_BIT)' entry and add '$(VALID_ARCHS)'.

Make sure that the 'Valid Architectures' has armv7 in it, or it won't work.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
joachim
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Feb 2012
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posted: 10th Jan 2013 18:32
Yes , just found out it has to be armv7 in
'Valid Architectures' and its working now !!!!

Thank you, thank you, thank you, all of you !!!

So now I could start porting my code to Xcode, if
it could read the new 3D commands, but it can't.
Any takers for this problem ?

regards
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 10th Jan 2013 18:51
If you want to do 3D you need to download and install v1088.

AGK v1076 doesn't do 3D, version 108 does. But version 108 is still in Beta (really Alpha) mode. The latest is v1088.

And, I would advise starting with a fresh folder on your Mac (name it something like AGK_v1088) and installing the new bits in there.

And don't expect the examples to work properly, since they have not been updated for v108<anything>.

I will try to create working templates for the different platforms as soon as I can, but it won't be before next week at the very earliest.

The v1076 projects/templates won't work 'as is' with v1088 because there have been big changes in the core AppGameKit files which are included in each project directory and not in any shared areas.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
joachim
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Feb 2012
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posted: 11th Jan 2013 18:28
Ok,

so can I start to experiment with 3d on iOS ?
I'm using 1088 already on windows and have a program working.

On the Mac
I have folder AGK1088 and AppGameKit1088.exe in it(for Windows).
I have an AppGameKit folder with AGK.exe, AGK.txt, icon.ico, folders IDE,
Players and Projects.
AGK.txt tells me its 'Build 1076'.
What are my next steps ?

Something else !

When I try running MovingSprites on my iPhone,
I get the mes. 'The application does not have
a valid signature'
but HittingSprite works ???


cheers
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 11th Jan 2013 18:44
Every Xcode project needs to have the code signing set.

If you correctly installed v1088, the AGK.txt file in the main AppGameKit directory will say build 1088.

If the file you are looking at says 1076, you did not correctly install it.

You need to totally uninstall AppGameKit before installing a new version if you intend to use the same directory. I install each new version in its own directory so I can do comparative tests.

At the moment there aren't any templates for v1088. I haven't had the time to build any (and neither has anyone else, it appears). I hope to have time soon and will post them in the AGK Wiki Templates page.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
tornado
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jul 2005
Location:
Posted: 11th Jan 2013 21:16 Edited at: 11th Jan 2013 22:04
Ancient Lady, I have 1.086 compiled on xGEKKOx template. Does 1.088 have significant difference?

UPD I've found that this template is not on wiki, sorry

joachim
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Feb 2012
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posted: 11th Jan 2013 21:27
How do I install 1088 ?

Executing AppGameKit1088.exe tels me,
only for Windows.

Is there a different download, or do I have to coppy
from PC to Mac, or do I need software (parallels) to
run it on the Mac ?

And yes, I have different folders for 1076 and 1088


In the case of running MovingSprites on my iPhone,
I use the same signature as in HittingSprite,
and it works there.

Thank You so much for your time and advice,
regards,
Joachim
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 11th Jan 2013 21:40
Quote: "Does 1.088 have significant difference?"

Probably. There are some AppGameKit core files in the projects that do change and I haven't had a chance to review and see if there are any differences between v1085 (the last template version added to the AppGameKit Wiki page, not v1086) and v1088, and I'm sure there are. There are definitely some major differences between v1076 (if that is what you meant) and v1088.

Quote: "How do I install 1088 ?"

I assume you mean on your Mac.

There is not a separate download at this time. The v108x are in Beta and not fully delivered. Once it is fully delivered, they will create a Mac only zip file as they have for v1076 (an official, non-beta delivery).

You copy the AGK1088/IDE directory over to your Mac. Just like you did for v1076.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2022-09-29 11:58:26
Your offset time is: 2022-09-29 11:58:26