Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

iOS and MacOS / "The application does not have a valid signature."

Author
Message
joachim
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Feb 2012
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posted: 11th Feb 2013 17:54
Hi All,

I think I found a Bug ?!?!

When I execute my program on my iPhone 3Gs it
works fine, but after I executed it in the
simulater two message boxes come up saying

"The application does not have a valid signature."

after this I can not bring it back to work on the 3Gs.

I have Xcode Version 4.6
and iOS 6.1


cheers
joachim
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Feb 2012
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posted: 11th Feb 2013 18:20
I read that spaces in Project names could be
a problem.
Names like ``Box2D - CollisionWalls``
for example.
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 11th Feb 2013 20:06
What version of AppGameKit are you using?

Are you using Tier 1 or Tier 2?

If it is Tier 2, are you trying to run the example Xcode projects (which are no where near up to date with AppGameKit v1076, never mind v1088)?

Did you set the code signing elements in the project to your signatures?

And, yes, iOS doesn't like spaces in the project names. And the example projects are really only meant for Windows or broadcast through a Player.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
joachim
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Feb 2012
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posted: 11th Feb 2013 20:57
I'm using v1088 tier2,

and as I said, thinks are ok, I have games running on my
3Gs. The problem comes after switching back from simmulator
to the device.

If my signatures are not ok it wouldn't work in the first
place, I assume. Resetting the signature afterwards does not
work, there is no way to make it work again.( in my knowledge )

Would it be possible for you to make the Xcode projects
available without spaces in their names ?
If this fixes the problem everybody would profit from it.

In a previous Post you mentioned that if you can find the time
you would look into 3D for iOS, any progress ?

Thanks for you help Ancient Lady.
cheers
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 12th Feb 2013 15:15
I haven't had the time for 3D play at all.

What simulator version are you using? And are you using an iPhone or iPod simulator?

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
joachim
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Feb 2012
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posted: 12th Feb 2013 16:45
iPhone and iPad 6.1 Simulator.

One more thing,
sound in the simulator works fine, but I could
not get it working on the device.( iPhone 3Gs )
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 12th Feb 2013 19:20
Okay, I think I begin to see the problem. And I think I had the same issue myself.

If you run a simulator session, it rebuilds the project for simulator specific things. And that sometimes messes up the signatures.

It is best to do a clean and build with your target device selected after doing a simulator run.

Also, in your project, for the TARGET and fr PROJECT, under 'Build Settings'->'Code Signing', do you have entries for 'Code Signing Identity'->Simulator?

There should be three setting groups under 'Code Signing Entity': Debug, Release and Simulator.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
joachim
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Feb 2012
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posted: 14th Feb 2013 01:06
Sorry,

the Sound works fine.
Just found out that the Phone was on silence.
How stupid is that.

regreds and regards,
Joachim
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 14th Feb 2013 14:26
I totally understand.

After over thirty years as a software and hardware techy, I finally got my first smart phone (my old Palm phone doesn't count) and have had to learn all sorts of new stuff. Like how to answer the thing when it's been sitting for a while and has gone to screen lock mode.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
joachim
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Feb 2012
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posted: 14th Feb 2013 17:08
I havnt had this one yet, but sounds scary.
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 14th Feb 2013 18:12
No biggy, I just had to practice calling from my home land line.

And if you have both land line and mobile phones on speaker and make any sound, you get an extreme feedback event. Very painful on the ears!

Actually, I quite like my new phone with AT&T. I used to be with Verizon and hated dealing with their help system. AT&T was very pleasant and easy. And I can actually be on the phone with someone and do something else with it (like check and change settings) at the same time. Quite cool! And, apparently, only AT&T does this.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
joachim
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Feb 2012
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posted: 14th Feb 2013 18:25
"clean and build" did not help,

and 'Code Signing Entity' you probably

mean Identity.

I have it running now, but I changed in

Debug, Release and Simulator from
'Any iOS SDK' to 'Any SDK'
lets hope it works for a while.


cheers and thanks
Joachim
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 14th Feb 2013 19:41
You are correct, it is 'Code Signing Identity'.

I have all of mine set for 'Any iOS SDK'.

And I just checked the v1088 iOS Template I uploaded. It doesn't have 'Simulator' under 'Code Signing Identity'. It ran okay under the simulator and then I got the "The application does not have a valid signature." error when I tried to run it on my iPad. It ran before I did it on the simulator.

So, I closed Xcode completely, manually deleted the Build directory in the project, rebooted my iPad, made sure the template was uninstalled on the iPad, started up Xcode and it ran fine.

Then I ran it on the Simulator, cleaned the project and ran it on my iPad again with no problems.

It's a weird ordering thing.

I finally figured out how to add the Simulator configuration. Totally non-obvious.

So I then tried everything with the iPhone simulator and my iPod Touch (using the same sim version as my iPod Touch). Initial run on Sim okay, clean and fail to run on iPod Touch. Shut all down, delete directory and repeat runs. And it was all fine again.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
joachim
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Feb 2012
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posted: 14th Feb 2013 21:09
I would love to make some tests with the 3D
projects I have in GDK and see it on the iPhone.
But for now Sprites are just fine to get my feet
wet.

One more thing, is there a way to stop overriding
the one App agk creates, so that I have more then
one program made with agk on the device ?

cheers
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 14th Feb 2013 22:29
If you look in the instructions on the AGK Wiki Templates page, it discusses how to change the names of apps as they are recognized by devices.

While the page is meant for Tier 2, the project naming stuff applies to Tier 1 as well.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
xGEKKOx
AGK Master
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2008
Location: Italy
Posted: 27th Feb 2013 16:40
Try to Clean the build after you use the simulator.
Everytime you pass from a simulator to a device clean the build.

Press CMD + SHIFT + K

Long life to Steve!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2022-09-25 21:51:01
Your offset time is: 2022-09-25 21:51:01