Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / I Can't Load 3D Models

Author
Message
Pieckle
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2013
Location:
Posted: 22nd Feb 2013 20:13
I cannot for the life of me figure out what's wrong. I have Dark GDK for Visual C++ Express and created a new 3D game from the templates menu. The auto-generated code works fine but when I went to try to import my own 3D models using Add:Existing Item I got the error:
"A custom build rule to build files with the extension ".3ds" could not be found."
I get the same error trying to use .x files.

If anyone could tell me if I'm missing something from the install package or how to make my own custom build rules that would be wonderful.

Thank you.
Mr Bigglesworth
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 23rd Feb 2013 03:08
You can't add them in visual studio, you have to load them using dbLoadObject(char* FilePath, int ObjectID) like this:

dbLoadObject("C:\model.x", 10);
Pieckle
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2013
Location:
Posted: 27th Feb 2013 02:48
Thank you so much. Now when I try to load 3ds files I get the error: Unhandled exception at 0x76f115de in New 3D.exe: 0xC0000005: Access violation reading location 0x00000010 though I think the file is bad and .X is loading just fine. Will these models be included when I compile and export the final program though?
Brendy boy
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Jul 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 27th Feb 2013 19:24
Quote: "Now when I try to load 3ds files I get the error"

.3ds files come in many different "flavours", some of them can be loaded some can't. Convert all your files to .x or .dbo

Quote: "Will these models be included when I compile and export the final program though? "

no, you have to copy them manualy where your exe is

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-03-29 13:56:01
Your offset time is: 2024-03-29 13:56:01