Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

iOS and MacOS / Can't install AGK on OSX

Author
Message
Murphy The Turtle
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jun 2013
Location: Portland
Posted: 24th Jun 2013 20:03
I just bought AppGameKit community edition, and when I download the OSX version, I receive the .exe, which I am not able to open. Any help?

Murphy
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 24th Jun 2013 23:23
I've never used the installer for Mac.

I just copy the IDE directory from my Windows machine to an appropriately named directory on my Mac and then delete the directories that are not needed.

If you want to work in the 3D stuff, then you need to download the AppGameKit V108 Beta 14 and copy that over to your Mac.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
Murphy The Turtle
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jun 2013
Location: Portland
Posted: 25th Jun 2013 05:57
What do you mean? Would I delete the AGK.exe to, or would I delete everything but the IDE folder?

Murphy

Attachments

Login to view attachments
tornado
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jul 2005
Location:
Posted: 25th Jun 2013 13:59 Edited at: 25th Jun 2013 14:00
Quote: "would I delete everything but the IDE folder"

Install the beta by extracting the downloaded .exe on Windows machine, then copy the extracted folders to Mac. Necessary Xcode setup is well documented at FAQ http://appgamekit.com/documentation

Ancient Lady
Valued Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 25th Jun 2013 16:31
On your Mac you would delete everything EXCEPT the following folders:
<AGKDIR>/IDE/apps/interpreter
<AGKDIR>/IDE/apps/interpreter_ios
<AGKDIR>/IDE/apps/interpreter_mac
<AGKDIR>/IDE/apps/template_ios
<AGKDIR>/IDE/apps/template_mac
<AGKDIR>/IDE/common
<AGKDIR>/IDE/Help (this is up to you, whether you want local help)
<AGKDIR>/IDE/platform/apple
<AGKDIR>/IDE/platform/mac

You cannot directly execute the AppGameKit IDE on a Mac (unless it is some virtualized Windows environment).

The directories above are what you need to build iOS and Mac in Tier 1 and Tier 2.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
Murphy The Turtle
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jun 2013
Location: Portland
Posted: 25th Jun 2013 20:22
I have everything deleted, except what you told me not to. If I'm reading correctly, I can't open AGK. How would I make a game? Would I just build it in text edit?

Murphy
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 25th Jun 2013 20:34
I meant and said for you to delete it on your Mac, not on your Windows PC.

And, I also said that you cannot run the AppGameKit IDE on your Mac. It only runs in a Windows environment.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 25th Jun 2013 20:35
Are you going to be working in Tier 1 or Tier 2?

It makes a big difference.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
Murphy The Turtle
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jun 2013
Location: Portland
Posted: 25th Jun 2013 23:31
I think Tier 1, I know some actionscript but I want to wait to learn C++ later. I've been searching around, and have downloaded XCODE. I think that to make a game on a Mac I have to use XCODE. Is this true? If so, do you know of any good tutorials?

Murphy
Murphy The Turtle
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jun 2013
Location: Portland
Posted: 26th Jun 2013 03:12
Im planning on working with Tier 1.

After doing some research, I realize that I need to use Xcode. How do I use it with AppGameKit?

Murphy
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 26th Jun 2013 16:18
If you are going to work in Tier 1, you build your app using the AppGameKit IDE in a Windows environment.

You use Xcode to build the Mac (and iOS) versions once you are ready to test on the actual device and not through a Player (which you usually need to build yourself for iOS and Mac).

And, you will need an Apple Mac Developer's License ($99/year) to publish with Apple. I know you need an iOS Developer's License before you can start testing on devices. But you might not need that Mac License until you are ready to try publishing.

There is an official AGK guide for Mac Publishing (which covers the basics).

However, it gives totally incorrect information about copying the Players\Mac folder. Since that folder contains only a text file which is useless. They haven't updated the guides since the first release.

The guide doesn't talk about copying the interpreter_mac directory and renaming it and I think it is a bad idea to keep reusing the interpreter_mac directory as appears to be implied by the rest of the guide. By copying it fresh for each project, you don't have to worry about deleting old media or which app version the bytecode.byc file is.

I just update my iOS Tier 1 instructions for Mac and will create a post in this forum with the instructions.

If they are not clear or you have issues, please let me know.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
Murphy The Turtle
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jun 2013
Location: Portland
Posted: 26th Jun 2013 20:26
OK, I think I got it. Thanks for the help!

Murphy
IBOL
Retired Moderator
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2004
Location: @IBOL17
Posted: 3rd Jan 2014 05:11
OK, so it is possible to code in AppGameKit BASIC tier, and eventually release a stand-alone mac version?

because that is certainly what I have been led to believe,
and in fact why I just spent a lot of money on a mac.

I have looked at ancient lady's other post, and it seems possible...

Murphy, did you eventually get it to work?

Ancient Lady
Valued Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 3rd Jan 2014 05:20
Quote: "OK, so it is possible to code in AppGameKit BASIC tier, and eventually release a stand-alone mac version?"

Yes. But it does require that you have a Mac type computer (Mac Mini is very good) and an Apple Mac Developer's License ($99USD/year for as long as you want your app to appear in the store).

I have not published in Mac, yet. I am 7 levels away from my WIP being ready.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
AGK Community Tester and AppGameKit Master
Boulderdash
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 28th Feb 2014 12:23
Apparently you can use AppGameKit IDE on a MAC using "VMware fusion" (virtual machine) naturally you will need a Windows 7 OS install CD also.

This Video shows it being done...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=67Gg0VPkblM

You will also now need OS 10.8.5 or greater

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2022-09-25 22:52:18
Your offset time is: 2022-09-25 22:52:18