Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / The DBC Codex

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 26th Jun 2013 18:20 Edited at: 26th Jun 2013 23:22

Over the years there has been a lot of good work done in DBC, many talented coders have contributed brilliant code and expanded the functionality of the language, but much of this work is lost in the sands of time. I would like to rediscover these lost codes and preserve them in a compendium. Unlike the codebase, this will be a structured reference containing only the best solutions.

Once enough code is gathered to compile a first edition I will release it as a .pdf file. But I need help, there is a lot of code out there and I am not an expert in all areas of DBC (far from it!) If you find, or have written, a good coding solution please post it here (or a link to it), with the problem title, name of the author and date written if you have that information. Please only post code that solves a specific problem, I don't want full games posted here just because they are good.

I would also appreciate help refining the code. I want this book to be as neat and focused as possible so a lot of the code is going to need reworking to be clear and suit a general purpose. This will be a reference book, not a study guide, but still some explanation of the code is required.

Thanks.

Some possible topics for consideration:-

* DLL's (will have their own section, possibly their own book entirely.)
* Custom 2D graphics functions
* Maths functions
* Data sorting
* Collisions
* Buttons
* Memblock mesh manipulation
* Memblock sound creation
* Procedural generation
* Recursive functions

The difficulty in learning is not acquiring new knowledge but relinquishing the old.