Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / Darkboy Alpha Release - DBP Gameboy Emulator

Author
Message
kvanza
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Nov 2003
Location:
Posted: 28th Nov 2003 22:52
Darkboy Alpha Release
http://www.geocities.com/kvanza/darkboy.htm

After a lot of work I finally have released my Gameboy emulator written in Dark Basic Professional. Currently the emulator supports 32K roms that don't use memory mappers and can also load zipped rom files as well. Controls are mapped to the keyboard currently. Several Gameboy games are actually to a playable state with this emulator including Tetris.

As this is still a fairly early release there is no sound yet and there is more work to be done. But I would appreciate any comments, and how well it runs on different systems. It currently appears that a 1Ghz or greater CPU should be able to handle it well.

There are NO Roms included with the emulator so you will need to find any you wish to test yourself (www.zophar.net has public domain roms that are legal to download. Any commercial games you're on your own.)
Rob K
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Sep 2002
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom
Posted: 29th Nov 2003 13:10
Quote: "It currently appears that a 1Ghz or greater CPU should be able to handle it well."


Hang on - a 1Ghz CPU to emulate an 8Mhz processor ?! (or 16 for the GBA)


BLUE GUI Plugin: http://blue.robert-knight.net / BLUE IDE [href]http://blueide.sf.net/ - Replacement editor for DBPro[/href]
Arkheii
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jun 2003
Location: QC, Philippines
Posted: 29th Nov 2003 13:24
It is an emulator after all. The PC was not "designed" to run those games, but the consoles and handhelds were built for it. I mean, the old PS had a 133mhz processor, and my 1.5Ghz still chokes it in some places.
kvanza
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Nov 2003
Location:
Posted: 29th Nov 2003 17:13
Quote: "a 1Ghz CPU to emulate an 8Mhz processor ?! (or 16 for the GBA)"


Yes, at the moment it does require a 1Ghz CPU to run 100% unfortunately a lot of the time seems to be actually spent in refreshing the screen as the way a Gameboy handles screen drawing is different than how you would update the screen (it renders each line separately with a BG, Window, and Sprite layer and then during the V-BLANK period we get to draw the screen. If you were making a game in DBP you wouldn't have commands to render every single line, you'd place a bitmap background, toss another bitmap over that, place your sprites on the screen and sync for the end result.

This is actually only achieving this speed thanks largly in part to finding ways to optimize coding in DBP. It used to take 20 seconds to emulate 1 Second of CPU time. (Even longer earlier in development)

I've virtually eliminated all WHILE ENDWHILE statements with IF FOR NEXT ENDIF structures and replaced the whole DO LOOP with a FOR NEXT loop that never exits (unless told to...) These two things actually had the most dramatic increase in speed.

Sound is one thing that hasn't been implemented yet as it also will require a bit of work to handle. Again, we'd just normally load a WAV or MP3 and type play sound 1 and you have sound but the Gameboy sets registers to determine what sound is generated on which channel.

With a CPU, video, and sound hardware being emulated with one piece of software which has to translate it all to work with DBP, a computer's CPU, video and sound.

Also, keep in mind that even for the CPU it can take a few lines of code to emulate a single CPU intstruction.
David T
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: England
Posted: 29th Nov 2003 19:06
Very, very impressive I have to say.

Well done

"Help! My keyboard is stuckkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk"

Mercenaries in Space demo @ http://www.davidtattersall.me.uk
Mattman
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jun 2003
Location: East Lansing
Posted: 29th Nov 2003 19:13
you site is down

Beauty, eh? RoooooOoooooKoooooKoooooRoooooOoooooKoooooKooooo!
kvanza
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Nov 2003
Location:
Posted: 29th Nov 2003 20:23 Edited at: 29th Nov 2003 20:24
Yes, Geocities apparently offers practically nothing for transfers so it seems to go down after a few people download...

A mirror has been made available here

http://www.nazcode.com/files/DarkBoyAlpha2.zip
Megaton Cat
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posted: 30th Nov 2003 02:51
sounds very advanced..

p.s mattman please change ur god damn name.

Visit our new site! : http://www.megatoncreations.tk
If life throws you a grenade...pull the pin and throw it back!
kvanza
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Nov 2003
Location:
Posted: 1st Dec 2003 21:11 Edited at: 1st Dec 2003 21:13
Alpha 3 has been released and has fixed a good number of graphic errors. The compatibility is improving as about 27 games now are at a playable state.

You can get it here - http://www.geocities.com/kvanza/darkboy.htm
Or here if Geocities transfer limit is preventing you from getting it. - http://www.sunday-monday.co.uk/other/

The next thing I'm working on is support for MBC1 which should greatly increase the number of game that can be tested.
David T
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: England
Posted: 1st Dec 2003 21:52
Quote: "sounds very advanced..

p.s mattman please change ur god damn name."


I second both those points

"Help! My keyboard is stuckkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk"

Mercenaries in Space demo @ http://www.davidtattersall.me.uk
Mattman
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jun 2003
Location: East Lansing
Posted: 2nd Dec 2003 04:29
hehe, I'm back now
for a while today I was Oh Suzzana

Beauty, eh?
I am mischeivious
RoooooOoooooKoooooKoooooRoooooOoooooKoooooKooooo!
Benjamin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 16th Dec 2003 04:23
Oh my god how the hell did this post sink so far away when its so cool?!

Benjamin R Wharton
WoW is WOW
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jun 2003
Location: Australia
Posted: 20th Dec 2003 02:19
I'm really amazed and have no idea on how you did that but just one problem, how many people play gameboy games they all play gameboy advance, I downloaded it and when i read the exe the controls didn't have an l or r button, so if you could make an emulator that plays all gameboys (like visual boy advance) i would really be impressed.
Rpg_freak.
kvanza
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Nov 2003
Location:
Posted: 31st Dec 2003 04:50
xxxpetratxxx - It may have something to do with the bit of a break I've taken this month. I do expect to continue work on the emulator though and been working on planning new ideas to improve the performance of the emulator (limiting the speed on high end PCs and increasing speed for the low end PCs)

RPG_Freak - There is no controls planned for GameBoy Advance (the L and R buttons) as the GBA uses a different CPU and is more complex than the GB and GBC which is what this emulator will be handling. I'm not sure that I will be making a GBA emulator in DBP as it's a more complex system and just making the Gameboy work to the point it is now has been quite a task.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-04-26 22:01:09
Your offset time is: 2024-04-26 22:01:09