Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Tile Based Map Scrolling - The most efficient way?

Author
AGK Developer
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi,

I'm making a tile map editor. I've not concentrated on performance as I'm new to AppGameKit basic and wanted to get something going rather than get bogged down too early. So, so far I create a sprite for each tile placed and write values to an array [map_x, map_y, Sprite_ID]. Then for the display I look up the sprite IDs in the array for the screen co-ordinates that I'm at (taking into account the offsets for x and y) then draw cloned sprites on the screen. Each loop I set the position of the sprites used in the map to be off screen to clear the map (I guess I should be setting them to be inactive and invisible too?) and then reposition the ones that are needed according to the map array. It seems to work, though I'm sure it could be more efficient? But the real part I want to get to grips with is how I'll use the map in my games. I want to start by building a framework that will do scrolling and that does need to be efficient so I thought I'd come and ask for some help. I've read as many threads as I can and here are a few methods I figure I could do...

1. Place all the tiles (sprites) that make up the whole map and use the viewoffset command for scrolling. My understanding is that AppGameKit is efficient in not actually trying to draw sprites that are off screen but I've also read that having large number of sprites isn't efficient...so onto 2...