Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Animating FPSC Models in DBPro

Author
Message
Jonk
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Jul 2005
Location: East of Java
Posted: 10th Jan 2014 17:11
Bought FPSC Model Pack 53.

I can load the models and textures into DBpro fine, but can't seem to play animations using the usual play command. Am I missing something or are theses models not animated?

"There are no perfect ideas only perfect intentions"
Derek Darkly
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2011
Location: Whats Our Vector, Victor?
Posted: 10th Jan 2014 21:39 Edited at: 10th Jan 2014 21:54
If you call PLAY OBJECT every loop it will constantly start the animation over at frame zero (or specified frame.)
You can use it inside your loop, but you should call it only when starting or changing an animation.

As a test, try PLAY OBJECT before the loop:



D.D.
Jonk
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Jul 2005
Location: East of Java
Posted: 10th Jan 2014 23:02
I think I did it like that Derek. But I still can't get it to play

Here is a clip of the code from my program that loads and plays the object.

Is this Correct?



"There are no perfect ideas only perfect intentions"
Derek Darkly
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2011
Location: Whats Our Vector, Victor?
Posted: 11th Jan 2014 04:58
That should work... very odd.
Have you tried one of the DBPro sample models?



D.D.
Jonk
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Jul 2005
Location: East of Java
Posted: 11th Jan 2014 08:46
Yes that model seems to work fine. It just seems to be the models from the FPSC Pack very stange

"There are no perfect ideas only perfect intentions"
Jonk
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Jul 2005
Location: East of Java
Posted: 11th Jan 2014 08:50
Thats odd It seems to be working now with that simple peice of code. My original program must have had some bugs in. Thanks so much for you help Derek

"There are no perfect ideas only perfect intentions"
Derek Darkly
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2011
Location: Whats Our Vector, Victor?
Posted: 11th Jan 2014 15:47
Quote: "Thats odd It seems to be working now with that simple peice of code. My original program must have had some bugs in. Thanks so much for you help Derek"


Great!
I knew the TGC store models had animations because I bought the Viral Outbreak pack and they work fine.

D.D.
LBFN
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Apr 2007
Location: USA
Posted: 11th Jan 2014 17:08
The difference is that you originally use PLAY OBJECT 1, as opposed to LOOP OBJECT 1.

If you use PLAY OBJECT, you need to tell it which frames to play. I'm surprised it didn't error for you.

So many games to code.....so little time.
Jonk
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Jul 2005
Location: East of Java
Posted: 12th Jan 2014 04:44
Ahaa that explains it

"There are no perfect ideas only perfect intentions"
Derek Darkly
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2011
Location: Whats Our Vector, Victor?
Posted: 12th Jan 2014 21:00 Edited at: 12th Jan 2014 21:06
Quote: "If you use PLAY OBJECT, you need to tell it which frames to play."


According to the help file, PLAY OBJECT 1 should have worked too, cycling through each frame once.

This works for me, but on a faster PC it might happen too quickly to be visible without a slower sync rate:



(Naturally, the command isn't useful this way, but should work regardless.)

D.D.
LBFN
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Apr 2007
Location: USA
Posted: 13th Jan 2014 03:07
Yes, PLAY OBJECT 1 does actually play the model's animations one time. I can't say I have ever used it that way, as typically you are not going to want it to play all of the animations one time like that.

So many games to code.....so little time.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-07-18 23:57:50
Your offset time is: 2019-07-18 23:57:50