Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Professional Discussion / 3D model with hires texture

Author
Message
marvin944
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2013
Location:
Posted: 28th Jan 2014 15:34
I'm looking for:

- Example of hires 3D model with textures
- Someone who can convert a 3DS model to .x with HIRES (2048 x 2048) textures and make me an example in DBpro.

This can be paid work when I will use it for a project.

I've been testing with 3DS objects, but all I get is black screens...

Dutch
Derek Darkly
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2011
Location: Whats Our Vector, Victor?
Posted: 29th Jan 2014 02:15 Edited at: 29th Jan 2014 02:17
I've attached a 3DS to X converter.
Put your 3DS file into the same folder and then just run the converter.

As for models, most of the model packs in the TGC store are only $20 and are great to practice with!

You might search the forums (or google) and get lucky and find a free humanoid model with a high resolution texture. There's the (super)model called Miko that comes with DBP, not sure about her texture size.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
wattywatts
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th May 2009
Location: Michigan
Posted: 29th Jan 2014 03:24
Quote: "You might search the forums (or google) and get lucky and find a free humanoid model with a high resolution texture."

If that's what you need, try makehuman. It's much easier to have something to start with and then edit, instead of creating something from scratch.

New sig coming soon..
marvin944
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2013
Location:
Posted: 29th Jan 2014 09:40
Thanks! I will try it!

With 'model' I don't mean just a humanoid obejct, but ANY model that came from 3D MAX.

Dutch
RonsWare
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Sep 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 29th Jan 2014 10:45
Dutch = Hollands ?

Programming is learning
RonsWare
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Sep 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 31st Jan 2014 21:05
@Marvin944
I have made a example program for you.
It's pretty basic and loads 3D models, you can save DBO files from the .X or 3DS files.
The DBO format load's faster.

I have attached the code, the model and everything else in a RAR file.



Here are two screenshots of the model

[img]null[/img][img]http://s1243.photobucket.com/user/ronsware/media/Temp2014-01-
3120-52-11-23_zps46210b72.jpg.html[/img]



I hope this helps al little

Cheers Ron

Programming is learning

Attachments

Login to view attachments
RonsWare
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Sep 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 31st Jan 2014 21:10 Edited at: 31st Jan 2014 21:27
my mistake





Cheers Ron.

Programming is learning
RonsWare
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Sep 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 31st Jan 2014 21:32
@Marvin944
I have made a example program for you.
It\'s pretty basic and loads 3D models, you can save DBO files from the .X or 3DS files.
The DBO format load\'s faster.

I have attached the code, the model and everything else in a RAR file.



Here are two screenshots of the model



I hope this helps al little

Cheers Ron

Programming is learning
zeroSlave
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jun 2009
Location: Springfield
Posted: 1st Feb 2014 03:09
If you are using 3DS Max and want .x files, look into the Panda DirectX exporter. It's got some nice export features including exporting animations.

Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.
marvin944
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2013
Location:
Posted: 1st Feb 2014 14:19
Thanks a lot people! Your help to get me back at using DBpro is amazing and very much appreciated! I have Max and Panda, they work great!

By the way, are these conversions loss less?

Dutch

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2022-08-18 12:26:18
Your offset time is: 2022-08-18 12:26:18