Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Joystick Keyboard Function (for ouya)

Author
Message
SoftMotion3D
AGK Developer
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Posted: 5th May 2014 22:18 Edited at: 5th May 2014 22:27
Well since the ouya player lacks the ability to pull up the ouya joystick keyboard i went ahead and coded one.

minimum resolution required 1024 on the x axis!
if its that or bigger... great! just position the keyboard on the screen where you want it.

This function is really easy to use...


This will pull up a keyboard that is controlled by your joystick to input a string of information
once your done hit enter or escape.
bam! you got your string
if it was canceled or has no string data the returned string reports "null"
if everything went well....then it reported your string back that was entered in

edit: you may need to change the draw priority around. it currently uses 3 for sprite and 2 for the texts
fyi: the buttons that are dark have not been coded in yet....maybe in the future and will probably change

Attachments

Login to view attachments
SoftMotion3D
AGK Developer
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Posted: 7th May 2014 02:08 Edited at: 7th May 2014 02:09
if anyones interested i could add touch support to the same keyboard. The benifits of using this one allows a coder to put the keybox anywhere on the screen.

Also it would only take 10 more mins to get the rest of the keys coded in.

it would be very easy to change the skin of the keyboard aswell.

Im going to start coding some dialog boxes next such as fileopen/save... since its another thing agk is lacking.

I almost feel like coding a blue gui style interface for agk.... i just may using sprites...

Jack
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Oct 2004
Location: [Germany]
Posted: 7th May 2014 06:40
Very good work!

There was always a lack of input possibilities in Tier1.

Thank you for your work.

[/url]
Zwarteziel
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 7th May 2014 07:28
@SM3D:

This is very well done! I wasn't aware of the fact that the AGK-player does not allow one to access the virtual keyboard. (most of my testing is done on PC). Your code is extremely useful for all who wish to use the platform.
SoftMotion3D
AGK Developer
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Posted: 7th May 2014 07:46
the agk player does pull up the virtual keyboard on most devices....it just happened to not work on OUYA.

also agk doesnt allow you to position the keyboard either.


I have made some modifications to it to work with my file explorer as well.

i will post it soon... (and the file explorer is not skinned nice yet!)

example video in action.....1 sec

SoftMotion3D
AGK Developer
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Posted: 7th May 2014 08:05 Edited at: 7th May 2014 08:29
ok here is a quick video preview...what i got so far but i will continue to add to it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dprKRr49quY&feature=youtu.be



Im going to add a native keyboard to allow typing into the box as well as touch input next before i update the download

SoftMotion3D
AGK Developer
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Posted: 11th May 2014 17:56 Edited at: 11th May 2014 18:07
ok its been updated: now a universal keyboard

now its a 100% universal keyboard

-supports a physical keyboard pressing buttons
-supports a touch screen
-supports up to 4 joysticks entry
-supports a physical mouse clicking the entry

easy to modify and code those other keys in if ya like.

enjoy!



there is also some settings to modify inside the function...


Attachments

Login to view attachments
SoftMotion3D
AGK Developer
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Posted: 21st May 2014 18:54
does anyone want my file explorer as well? i could post it too but currently only supports gamepad selection.

it would take me <1hr to add mouse/touch/keyboard support for it.

also its not just for ouya anymore....this could be used for anything.

Naphier
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2010
Location: St Petersburg, Florida
Posted: 21st May 2014 23:44
this looks very nice!
I also coded a keyboard for Wordspionage which I use in all games now because AGK's keyboard input is very unstable on Android (many users complain they can't input, keyboard gets stuck on numbers, keyboard won't allow long press, on and on). It's far from full QWERTY though! If I ever need it I'll be certain to use this.

SoftMotion3D
AGK Developer
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Posted: 22nd May 2014 18:46 Edited at: 22nd May 2014 18:47
thanks!

you would probably need to modify it for percentage based layout unless you want to use virtual resolution

After my school exams today i will finishup the file explorer and post the 2 functions together.

Ill see if i can make a mockup percentage version next.

Naphier
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2010
Location: St Petersburg, Florida
Posted: 22nd May 2014 18:50
No way! :p
Its a pretty easy conversion

Parry
AGK Developer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Dec 2009
Location: Swampstone
Posted: 13th Jun 2014 15:04
Anyone know if there are any plans for a future version of AGK2 to support the orginal OUYA keyboard? Or has anyone come up with a Tier 2 solution yet? Yesterday I had to plug a keyboard in the back of my OUYA to test my game.

I hoping its possible to make a java callback to pull up the original OUYA keyboard. If not I will try to code something similar to SoftMotion3D solution. Nice job btw.
SoftMotion3D
AGK Developer
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Posted: 13th Jun 2014 22:40 Edited at: 13th Jun 2014 22:41
no idea if they plan on supporting it....but they might later down the road. Im guessing people are pushing the most for 3d and the new compiler/ide.

so if it came it would probably be several months away.

creating your own keyboard function is fairly easy....just got to remember that if its with agk v1...and currently v2 alpha3, the functions dont hold there own memory thats local. I was having some fun with that coding this actualy... everything seems shared

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-25 06:23:16
Your offset time is: 2024-11-25 06:23:16