Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / Open Source (or free) alternative FM to Windows Explorer Urgently needed

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 17th Jun 2014 16:37
Hi all, sorry for stepping out of character (for the second time) before elections are over but this can't wait.
As most know, I've been running a Linux machine for quite a few years. It has spoiled me. I even installed VirtuaWin on my Win7 machine just to have multiple desktops. That brings me to my problem: Explorer will not behave with VirtuaWin. So, I need an alternative File Manager (FM) for Windows because I'm stuck on Windows for this project.

So, does anyone know of an alternative that has:
- A right-click context menu
- Handles MIME-types correctly
- Is preferably open source, but freeware will do.
- Isn't large in size.

Thanks in advance

Time is running out! Vote for me in this thread by posting "I vote nonZero" or all hope for this forum is lost.
nonZero
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 17th Jun 2014 23:37
Bump.
Anypony?

Time is running out! Vote for me in this thread by posting "I vote nonZero" or all hope for this forum is lost.
budokaiman
FPSC Tool Maker
Years of Service
User Offline
Playing: Hard to get
Posted: 17th Jun 2014 23:47
I like Cubic Explorer and Explorer++.

"Giraffe is soft, Gorilla is hard." - Phaelax
nonZero
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 17th Jun 2014 23:57
Thanks so much! I found a few older ones but they had little to no functionality. It drove me crazy.

TheComet
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 18th Jun 2014 00:33
I use one at work that's pretty cool, but I forgot the name. I'll be at work in about 13 hours from now.

nonZero
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 18th Jun 2014 20:04