Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / Labyronics

Author
Message
Maximilian
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2009
Location: Earth,Ukraine,....
Posted: 19th Aug 2014 22:19 Edited at: 25th Aug 2014 10:24
Hello everyone. Bring to your attention 3D Puzzle/Physics game make on DarkBASIC Professional.



Originally planned to be 40 levels with an incremental increase in the complexity of the maze as well as with a variety of static and dynamic obstacles/traps.

Creator: Coding | Modelling | Texturing | Sound | Music - Maxim Chernysh (me)






You can download an early demo version from my site link
or in IndieGogo project page.


Thanks for read | watch | support )

Attachments

Login to view attachments
TheComet
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2007
Location: I`m under ur bridge eating ur goatz.
Posted: 20th Aug 2014 21:06
Looks polished!

Maximilian
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2009
Location: Earth,Ukraine,....
Posted: 21st Aug 2014 14:09
Video is not game realtime. Download Demo attached in first post. Demo was developed for two weeks, including all media and music. Therefore, there is still poorly designed
Derek Darkly
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2011
Location: Whats Our Vector, Victor?
Posted: 22nd Aug 2014 20:11
I tried to run it on Windows XP and got this message:

Entry Point Not Found - The procedure entry point GetGestureInfo could not be located in the dynamic link library USER32.DLL

Don't know if that's just an issue with my pc or something more general.

666GO†O666
Maximilian
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2009
Location: Earth,Ukraine,....
Posted: 24th Aug 2014 19:27 Edited at: 25th Aug 2014 10:11
Checked by running in compatibility mode for XP (SP2). But little sense, since still appeals to my library USER32 and everything works correctly. I will try to find a PC with XP for test...
Quel
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 24th Aug 2014 22:12
Clicked on start a new game, some gray sprites flood the screen with white diagonal lines and plus signs... and nothing more ever happens after that.
Maximilian
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2009
Location: Earth,Ukraine,....
Posted: 25th Aug 2014 10:07 Edited at: 25th Aug 2014 10:23
Hmm ... strange. I thought I fixed this bug in all screen resolutions.
Change the resolution of the monitor at 1440x900 or 1600 x 900.
But I tests on all resolutions and works fine (I'm running at 1920 x 1200 | Windows 7 | x64)

UP--- fixed

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Quel
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 25th Aug 2014 21:28
Well, as had been said before me, polished professional looking stuff.

However now that it runs as intended, i find it extremely slow and cumbersome to get the ball somewhere. At first i thought it runs slowly, but that doesn't seem to be the case, it's not choppy or anything. The table simply reacts to my mouse soo slooowly. And with an apparent delay.

Would be highly unlikely to be able to enjoy a more complicated level than the very first one.

Which just wouldn't ever come, because no matter what hole the ball went down in, the first level restarted and it told me i lost a ball...
Quel
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 25th Aug 2014 23:04
Hmm... i retried, now it works. Interesting...

There are definately some bugs in there, this time although it registered my ball landing successfully in the right hole, the next stage started with the ball falling twice from the air.

And as i predicted, the second level is impossible with this speed and delay.

Could you upload a build with a 'show fps' option?
Maximilian
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2009
Location: Earth,Ukraine,....
Posted: 26th Aug 2014 09:32
Yes. In this demo are still some bugs:
1.Objects geometry (sometimes the ball is counted as lost dips below the horizon).
2 On slower machines or laptops - too slow speed.
3 The starting position of the ball is static
... Etc.

Now I'm trying to completely rewrite the game (as-it was just a prototype), from the menu, and ending with the game-play and in settings menu is to select the video mode and the ability to disable the shaders.

That stuck with counter FPS.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Maximilian
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2009
Location: Earth,Ukraine,....
Posted: 26th Aug 2014 09:33 Edited at: 26th Aug 2014 09:35
Other build with FPS counter and NO shader.
Just put in game folder

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Quel
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 27th Aug 2014 01:19
Well without shaders finally it is playable, although it was 45fps with them so that should have been fine.

Still comes down to the mechanics how the stage acts to the mouse, it needs refinement. I could play through now without loss, but i've been constantly thinking "how fun this could be with better controls".

We'll see how it turns out in the rewrite! Just keep up the quality of the packaging and it will be some fine product. Would insert a smiley with a thumbs up here, but there isn't any.
Maximilian
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2009
Location: Earth,Ukraine,....
Posted: 27th Aug 2014 08:19
Thank you for your support, for your comments, for testing.
With control will have to seems do magic. On my machine - it looks great - i7 | 16GB | GTX 740 .... Probably just need timer-based sync, now it's just a sinc rate 60.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2022-12-01 20:40:33
Your offset time is: 2022-12-01 20:40:33