Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / Why is the forum dying?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 26th Aug 2014 10:34
We have known for some time that the forum is becoming less and less active, I was an active resident of the DBC board for many years so I have witnessed its decay from a once vibrant community to only getting one or two posts a month. I fear the same fate is close at hand for the DBP board. It is sad because I have learned a lot from the many talented people in this community and hopefully I have given something back as well. I wouldn't want everything we have achieved here to be forgotten.

But why is this happening? Where is everyone going? Is the lack of updates and bug fixes for DBP the cause? Is there some new programming software that is pulling people away from DB?

Is there any hope for DB? What are TGC's plans for it? Is anyone going to maintain an open source/libre fork of the released source code?

Formerly OBese87.
Matty H
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 26th Aug 2014 11:31
I'm on the AppGameKit board, although before that it was DarkGDK so the DBPro board is not missing me too much. I suspect some people from DBPro are also now using AGK.

Also, FPSC Reloaded has it's own forums so that has probably contributed also.

TheComet
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 26th Aug 2014 11:38 Edited at: 27th Aug 2014 05:07
A lot of people I know who used to be active TGC users have moved on to C++ or Unity. Some of them are active in The Posting Competition (but not for long, click signature)

R.I.P.
Digital Awakening
AGK Developer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 26th Aug 2014 12:27