Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Is there no way to execute a file yet in AGK or V2?

Author
Message
DVader
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 3rd Oct 2014 22:28
I simply want to be able to open two folders in an actual explorer window. I've searched and there seems no way to do this. Am I missing something or is it not possible to implement? If not it makes some apps difficult to use.

Surely this should be easy enough to add?


Q6600. Nvidia 260GTX. 8 Gig Ram.
BatVink
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 3rd Oct 2014 23:36
It's not possible at the moment. It would have to be a Raw command if they added it, launching other executables would fail validation on mobile app stores.

DVader
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 3rd Oct 2014 23:42
That would be fine. As the app is not intended for anything beyond a PC.


Q6600. Nvidia 260GTX. 8 Gig Ram.
Markus
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Apr 2004
Location: Germany
Posted: 4th Oct 2014 02:46
agk not support windows api from tier1 basic, but from tier2 you can use.

AGK 108 (B)19 + AppGameKit V2 Alpha .. : Windows 8.1 Pro 64 Bit : AMD Radeon R7 265
xCept
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 5th Oct 2014 04:04
The only hackish and completely unreliable method currently for opening external folders would be by exploiting the OpenBrowser() command, i.e.

OpenBrowser("file:///" + GetWritePath())

But this is dependent on browser and security settings to work right. Works fine on Windows 8 and Mac w/ Chrome as the default browser, but other browsers like Firefox restrict local access so it doesn't work right.

Having a shell execution command for PC would be valuable indeed.
JimHawkins
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jul 2009
Location: Hull - UK
Posted: 5th Oct 2014 10:55
It would be very easy to add to T1 for Windows. There's a choice of using ShellExecute() or CreateProcess(). The same is probably true for OS X, but I have no experience on that subject.

It's possible on Android using fork or exec - but massively frowned on because it can confuse the process manager. Calling into shared processes which are part of the core is fine.

Totally forbidden on iOS.

So a lot depends upon what you want to do. Which is what?

-- Jim - When is there going to be a release?
Markus
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Apr 2004
Location: Germany
Posted: 5th Oct 2014 12:57
thats o good start for a PC plugin.
how about using the #include command or new one for this?
#include "myapi.dll"?

AGK 108 (B)19 + AppGameKit V2 Alpha .. : Windows 8.1 Pro 64 Bit : AMD Radeon R7 265
DVader
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 5th Oct 2014 16:36 Edited at: 5th Oct 2014 16:37
I'm strictly tier 1 only. I've toyed with the idea of trying to learn c++, but finding the time, when I can generally do what I want in Basic is hard. I do wonder what, if any extra speed you get when using c++ though. Has anyone done comparisons of how it compares?

I tried using the browser command as a temporary solution before posting here, but it didn't work with my default browser.

The app I want this to work on is a file conversion app for Reloaded FPE files I have made. I want to make it easy to find the source and destination folders in the app. At the moment you have to manually go find the folders, copy in the files etc. Far better to have a button to open each directory automatically.

I did consider using DB for this originally. I may have to convert it if I want this feature any time soon I imagine. I would prefer to stick with this though, as I am sure AppGameKit has a better turn of speed, and obviously if you are converting many files, speed helps. Although I don't think DB would be far behind in all honesty.


Q6600. Nvidia 260GTX. 8 Gig Ram.
JimHawkins
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jul 2009
Location: Hull - UK
Posted: 5th Oct 2014 18:36
Personally I wouldn't use AppGameKit for doing this stuff at all. It's not designed for tools.

-- Jim - When is there going to be a release?
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 5th Oct 2014 19:08
It's not so hard to add a command into the interpreter that gets fired off when for example a sprite with a particular ID has a colour value changed. Paul added a few tests in for commands in progress while I was working for TGC. Might be worth getting an example of how to do something like this to show how to easily add something to the Tier 1 interpreter for those willing to experiment.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-25 10:21:11
Your offset time is: 2024-11-25 10:21:11