Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / weird mouse specs

Author
Message
Green Gandalf
VIP Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jan 2005
Playing: Malevolence:Sword of Ahkranox, Skyrim, Civ6.
Posted: 1st Jan 2015 00:17 Edited at: 1st Jan 2015 00:20
I've just been browsing Amazon UK for a new wireless mouse and was thinking about this one - until I read the technical details:




Surely a 185 metre screen can't be right can it?

Perhaps I'd better read the reviews more carefully.



Powered by Free Banners

Attachments

Login to view attachments
MrValentine
AGK Backer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 1st Jan 2015 01:08
I am more interested in the fact they used single strings for two entries lol

Dark Java Dude 64
Community Leader
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Sep 2010
Location: Neither here nor there nor anywhere
Posted: 1st Jan 2015 01:41 Edited at: 1st Jan 2015 01:41
I've encountered similar situations when browsing around on Zillow (a real estate website). In this case, I have told it to sort houses by number of bathrooms:



Attachments

Login to view attachments
MrValentine
AGK Backer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 1st Jan 2015 01:58
Baths must be a form of measurement for them?

Centimetre, Metre, Yard, Bath, Foot...

Dark Java Dude 64
Community Leader
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Sep 2010
Location: Neither here nor there nor anywhere
Posted: 1st Jan 2015 02:24 Edited at: 1st Jan 2015 02:24
This house has only a measly 2.1 billion square feet:



Attachments

Login to view attachments
MrValentine
AGK Backer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 1st Jan 2015 02:39
LOL at the estimate Value Zestimate...

Seditious
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Aug 2013
Location: France
Posted: 1st Jan 2015 06:13
I'd be more worried about the mouse that's 22cm long and 15cm wide.
Clonkex
Forum Vice President
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 1st Jan 2015 12:40
Am I the only one who has no idea what these replies have to do with GG's question?

Green Gandalf
VIP Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jan 2005
Playing: Malevolence:Sword of Ahkranox, Skyrim, Civ6.
Posted: 1st Jan 2015 12:57
Quote: "Am I the only one who has no idea what these replies have to do with GG's question?"


Yes.

Quote: "I'd be more worried about the mouse that's 22cm long and 15cm wide."


Yes, that worried me too. But on a generous interpretation it could refer to the size of the box it's packaged in. My old mouse, which seems to be larger than the one described, arrived in a box 13.7cm x 13.4cm x 5cm (yes, I still have it ). Perhaps the Logitech box has to be that big for a Microsoft manual?



Powered by Free Banners
Clonkex
Forum Vice President
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Green Gandalf
VIP Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jan 2005
Playing: Malevolence:Sword of Ahkranox, Skyrim, Civ6.
Posted: 1st Jan 2015 13:37
Anyway, just taken a massive risk and ordered the mouse. Mainly because I want to check the screen size ...



Powered by Free Banners
CJB
Valued Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Feb 2004
Location: Essex, UK
Posted: 20th Jan 2015 16:51
Quote: "I'd be more worried about the mouse that's 22cm long and 15cm wide. "


It's not a mouse...
...it's a rat!...

...called Ben!

V2 T1 (Mostly)
Uzmadesign
Green Gandalf
VIP Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jan 2005
Playing: Malevolence:Sword of Ahkranox, Skyrim, Civ6.
Posted: 22nd Jan 2015 14:11
Quote: "But on a generous interpretation it could refer to the size of the box it's packaged in."


It did.

Quote: "Mainly because I want to check the screen size ... "


Not only was it not 185m big - it seemed to be missing altogether. Should I demand a refund?

Also, it had just one AA battery and not two AAA batteries as described - and it wasn't a lithium battery (as far as I can tell). I feel cheated and badly let down.



Powered by Free Banners
Clonkex
Forum Vice President
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 23rd Jan 2015 03:19
Quote: "Not only was it not 185m big - it seemed to be missing altogether. Should I demand a refund?

Also, it had just one AA battery and not two AAA batteries as described - and it wasn't a lithium battery (as far as I can tell). I feel cheated and badly let down."


Are you absolutely sure you got the same model...? Otherwise, yeah, I'd probably get a refund too!

Green Gandalf
VIP Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jan 2005
Playing: Malevolence:Sword of Ahkranox, Skyrim, Civ6.
Posted: 24th Jan 2015 01:10 Edited at: 24th Jan 2015 01:26
Quote: "Are you absolutely sure you got the same model...?"


Well, the model no. is the same on the mouse. Perhaps it was a fake?

Edit Actually, it isn't the model described after all! It's an M185 model but the detailed model no. is not the one shown - the one supplied is 810-(etc) and not 910-(etc). Perhaps the 910 version does come with a 185 metre screen but the delivery company refused to handle it? I'm guessing here of course.



Powered by Free Banners
Clonkex
Forum Vice President
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 24th Jan 2015 06:37
Quote: "Edit Actually, it isn't the model described after all! It's an M185 model but the detailed model no. is not the one shown - the one supplied is 810-(etc) and not 910-(etc). Perhaps the 910 version does come with a 185 metre screen but the delivery company refused to handle it? I'm guessing here of course."


So was it your fault (i.e. picked the wrong one when ordering) or theirs (i.e. sent the wrong one)? Cuz if it's their fault, I'd be getting a refund!

Green Gandalf
VIP Member
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jan 2005
Playing: Malevolence:Sword of Ahkranox, Skyrim, Civ6.
Posted: 24th Jan 2015 22:53
Quite possibly - but could you show me what a mouse, wireless or not, with a 185 metre screen actually looks like?



Powered by Free Banners
Clonkex
Forum Vice President
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 25th Jan 2015 00:13
Quote: "but could you show me what a mouse, wireless or not, with a 185 metre screen actually looks like?"


No lol

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2023-02-01 13:18:54
Your offset time is: 2023-02-01 13:18:54