Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Force Feedback on an Xbox 360 controller

Author
Message
aldoro101
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Apr 2014
Location:
Posted: 8th Jan 2015 01:37
I can't seem to get Force Feedback to work on my Xbox 360 controller.
The controller in question is an Afterglow Xbox 360 controller.
http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51ybmKZQqwL.jpg
Is there any sort of syntax I'm missing or are Xbox 360 controllers not compatible?

Man everybody got aids n' $h1t.
MrValentine
AGK Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 8th Jan 2015 05:06 Edited at: 8th Jan 2015 05:09
aldoro101
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Apr 2014
Location:
Posted: 8th Jan 2015 05:40
It works, but it doesn't fix the force commands and only the right side vibrates.
If there's no way to get force feedback to work on an Xbox 360 controller with the force commands, then that will have answered that. It's not a huge loss, but I would have liked that to work. However, I don't think I'm coding it properly. I read somewhere to identify the controller first and then it'll work. Is this true?

Man everybody got aids n' $h1t.
MrValentine
AGK Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 8th Jan 2015 07:14
Works fine for me...

aldoro101
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Apr 2014
Location:
Posted: 8th Jan 2015 23:34
Can you send me a code snippet using the force commands?

Man everybody got aids n' $h1t.
MrValentine
AGK Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 9th Jan 2015 03:35
Depends on whether you are using the plugin above or not...

aldoro101
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Apr 2014
Location:
Posted: 9th Jan 2015 05:35
I used the plugin, but it simply didn't seem to work correctly
If you don't have anything, I understand. I wish this command worked for my controller, but it seems I'm not using the right controller.
I know I have no power over the devs, but I kinda wish the Force Commands were more versatile or compatible. I've used this program for a very long time, but until recently I never had the change to get my hands on a controller with force feedback, so it's a little disappointing to say the least.
Thanks for trying to help, but I don't think that unless I have the right controller or programming know-how, I can't enjoy DBPro to its fullest. I did what you asked, but to put things simply my controller seems to not work.

Man everybody got aids n' $h1t.
MrValentine
AGK Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 9th Jan 2015 05:53 Edited at: 9th Jan 2015 05:58
Attach your controller before running this code, also, grab hold of your pad before running this



If this does not work for you, I think you need to get another XBOX 360 controller...

EDIT

Did not want to click the link, trying to see if viewing it works



EDIT

That is not a standard controller....

EDIT

Looking at the headset jack it is not standard at all...

EDIT

LOL Player 1 is the upper left indicator not upper right >.<

aldoro101
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Apr 2014
Location:
Posted: 9th Jan 2015 19:44
Thanks! It works great!

Yeah, it's not standard, but it should still support the standard Xinput format or whatever it's called. If you have one, then no, the indicator is in the upper left at player one. That's not a headset jack, either. You'd just have to have one in order to see, really. The picture I gave you isn't that great to begin with...

Anyways, thanks for the help!

Man everybody got aids n' $h1t.
MrValentine
AGK Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 9th Jan 2015 23:05
Well, at least you can get cracking now

That code I gave you to actuate the motors is precisely how you manage on and off! Works for me for short bursts and you can make timers for prolonged rotation too!

Also I forgot to put END at the bottom of that code example... Darn it but anyway lol

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-06-18 00:48:06
Your offset time is: 2019-06-18 00:48:06