Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Models and Media / Making "simple" objects

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi Folks. I have no experience with 3D editors but I don't want to create some simple objects to put into my game.

What I would like to do is build boxes and wall objects on which I can put my own textures.

Can anyone suggest a program with which I can easily do this and export into FPSC?

Thank you!
wizardious
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 27th Jan 2015 03:34 Edited at: 27th Jan 2015 03:44
Hey TinPusher
So, If you have no experience with 3d modelling programs, I'm not sure there is really a fast and easy way to create even simple objects. If you have the time, I would certainly recommend picking up some 3d modelling/texturing skills. If you have money to invest, 3ds max is an excellent program, and for free you can get Blender. Both are quite intimidating to a person who has no 3D experience.
Perhaps Google Sketchup would be the easiest I've seen, but I've never used it. FPSC uses .x file format for it's models, so with Sketchup-free, you can export to .dea Collada format only, which means you would have to convert it to .x format. Fragmotion is a good program to use with FPSC and you can try it free, if you are willing to say a little prayer.
(it can export to .x)
Modelling a box involves, creating a box,(easy), then you have to do a UV unwrap. UV's are texture co-ordinates. Imagine taking your box and cutting it up with scissors to lay it flat. You then have to assign each side of the box to the area of the texture you want to appear. Even a simple box can be tricky for a newbie, but like I said, it well worth it to pick up the skills if you invest the time.