Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / Pc Building Problems

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 20th Mar 2015 21:13
So, I decided to upgrade from my FX-6100 to an i7 4790k and thus had to change my motherboard along with it. Long story short, I'm at the final stage of wiring but I lack any form of 8-pin (or 4-pin) connector to put in the 8-pin socket at the top of the motherboard. What I have remaining are a couple of 6+2 pin connectors (identical to the ones I put in the graphics card). Unfortunately, only the 6 pin connector plays ball with the socket, the 2-pins are the wrong shape.

So I'm asking for any advice, this is my first build and I don't want to burn my money (or the house) from a trivial mistake.
Dark Java Dude 64
Community Leader
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 20th Mar 2015 21:20 Edited at: 20th Mar 2015 21:20
Ah, in my experience building a computer, not all of the connectors will go to something, and not all of the sockets will have a connector in them. If you have things that won't fit together, they aren't meant to go together. You already know that, of course. As long as everything that fits together is connected, though, I think you will be good to go. The motherboards and power supplies are designed to make it pretty hard to mess things up.

I may be wrong, though, so I would wait until another member posts here as well.

"Sorry, you can redo your sig...Stupid Mod pressed the wrong button." - JLMoonDog
mr Handy
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 20th Mar 2015 21:30
No, that is a not an upgrade if some parts are not compatible and some cut your CPU power due to insufficient bandwidth like old memory.

Buy a ready PC or buy parts similar to ready solutions.

FLAME123