Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Possible Bug: EditBoxes Not Working When Deleted Then Re-Created

Author
Message
JHA
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Dec 2003
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posted: 17th Apr 2015 17:22 Edited at: 17th Apr 2015 17:23
Hello All,

I've run into a possible bug with Edit Boxes, while working on my Pixel Effects program. (Listed in the Showcase Forum)

I create a dialog box that captures the Width and Height that the user enters into the EditBoxes and then I use those values to alter the size of the Canvas.

The first time through, all is well and the new Canvas size is displayed.

On the second, and subsequent, calls to the function, the Editboxes only return Zeroes for values.

I have recreated the issue in this code:



Clicking the OKAY button displays the values from the EditBoxes. Clicking CANCEL deletes all assets and then calls the routine again to re-create the assets. Now the values show up as Zeroes, instead of what is entered into the EditBoxes.

I think the problem has something to do with the fact that I am DELETING all of the dialog box assets and re-creating them when the function is called again.

I suppose I could just hide them and reposition them when the function is called again, but if this is a bug, I wanted to expose it, so it could be looked into.

Thank you!
JHA

Also: For whatever reason, the text in the EditBoxes is not visible, in my Pixel Effects program, although it seems to be fine in the code above.

Using AGK2 - Tier 1 - Version 2.0.12

Proverbs Challenge: http://pc.potentialsunleashed.com/

Using AppGameKit V2 Tier 1 - FPSC Reloaded / Game Guru
CJB
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Feb 2004
Location: Essex, UK
Posted: 17th Apr 2015 17:55
Hi JHA,

replace:



with:


V2 T1 (Mostly)
Uzmadesign
JHA
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Dec 2003
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posted: 17th Apr 2015 18:03 Edited at: 17th Apr 2015 18:07
A second pair of eyes and what do you know!! Thank you CJB!!!
Can't believe I didn't catch that. It is now working in my Pixel Effects program too.

I'm still having an issue where the Text inside the EditBox is not being displayed in my program, although it works in the code in my original post. Hmmm.....
It still works, but I just can't see what I type in. I have tried setting the SetEditBoxTextColor, but it doesn't seem to matter.

Proverbs Challenge: http://pc.potentialsunleashed.com/

Using AppGameKit V2 Tier 1 - FPSC Reloaded / Game Guru
CJB
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Feb 2004
Location: Essex, UK
Posted: 17th Apr 2015 18:25
Quote: "A second pair of eyes and what do you know!!"

Hehe... That's often all it takes (or a good night's sleep!).

V2 T1 (Mostly)
Uzmadesign

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-25 20:50:03
Your offset time is: 2024-11-25 20:50:03