Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / About level editor

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi guys, I am a totally newbie into programming and I bought AGK2 because it seems easy to code compare with other languages. The placement editor is only available for windows and I can't find it in AppGameKit mac version. How do I create a tile map or do I need to create a level editor by myself?
Behdadsoft
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Jul 2015 06:34
Hi.

for create tiled map, you can use http://www.mapeditor.org/
Zwarteziel
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Jul 2015 08:46
Hi,

If you are going to use 'Tiled', the map-creator Behdadsoft suggests, you are going to need some code to read the .tmx-files the program creates. Several users have posted working examples. You can find them in the various posts in this thread.
Scotty1973
AGK Backer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Jul 2015 09:19
Hi and welcome to the world of AppGameKit!

Tiled is good and there is as zerotown says code to read the .tmx files, if you use a level editor that has its own file format you will still need to code to read the files they produce.

The bonus if you create your own level editor is that it will be suited to your needs.

Still in development we also have the scene builder by Baxslash which is looking amazing.

[href]http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=214297&b=48
[/href]

Scotty
DavidAGK
AGK Developer
Years of Service
User Offline
Agree on making your own. If you do make your own...plan, plan and plan again before you start coding. I made a map editor but if I were to start again it would be much more flexible! Still, it does do what I need it to do for my game.