Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / DarkBasic Pro & game creation help.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Oct 2015 03:20
Hey guys & Gals,

I have owned DarkBasic Pro for many years but have never touched it for various reasons.
I am not a programmer and have 0% knowledge in any programming language, thou I am trying to do html courses online.

I don't wish to make FPS games at all, but would like to create games like FarmTown, HayDay and many others.
Not web based games as I know many use java but similar style.
So I am now disabled and have tons of time to learn things I would like to do which is why I ask.

That said what is the best way to learn DarkBasic Pro and programming in general?
What books if any should i get to start learning programming and DarkBasic Pro?

Like I said I'm a total noob and know nothing of programming.

Thanks in advance
Fred
MrValentine
AGK Backer
Years of Service
User Offline
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 8th Oct 2015 12:49
Hi Gren [Fred]

These two books are invaluable

Hands on DBPro Book 1
http://www.thegamecreators.com/?m=view_product&id=2161
Hands on DBPro Book 2
http://www.thegamecreators.com/?m=view_product&id=2162

You can buy the PDF versions for easy usage and near instant access, Also note it can take up to a day or two or longer if buying on the weekend for the order to process, but I think Digital content is now automatically approved...

Always shout out here if help is needed...

Sorry to hear of the circumstances, but hey, more time to concentrate! hope you recover well... err if it is such a situation...
Gren
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Oct 2015 17:49
Hello MrValentine,