Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers AppGameKit Corner / better ball control

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I started playing with AppGameKit and made a variation of pong (I've seen this version here and there not sure if it had a name) my biggest problem at the moment is my ball control. As soon as it hits a brick atm it reverses directions in both x and y axis. Is there a way to see what way it hits and only reverse that direction, or a better way to set up the ball bouncing? Another problem I have is that atm the ball always travels at a 45 degree angle while I like pong I want the angle to be more variable. Preferably like pong or breakout the more to the side you hit a paddle or block the steeper the hook. Is there anyway to set that up and if does anyone know how.

Another weird thing is that as soon as it hits one paddle the score goes up 30 points even if only 10 should have been added.

And be kind it's my first program evarrr. Or better yet if you have some tips for tutorials or for code optimization I'm really interested.

I also uploaded the png's for everything incase someone is interested. They're nothing special just made them real quick for this program.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
29 games
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 7th Nov 2015 21:14 Edited at: 7th Nov 2015 21:15
Hi alphabravoab,

I had a quick look at this and came up with a simple solution:

When the ball hits the block the code compares the position of the ball to the position of the block and from this it can tell with the ball has hit the bottom/top of the block or the sides. If it hits the top/bottom then the y direction is reversed. If it hits the sides then the x direction is changed.