Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / Help with samba

Author
DBPro Master
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 11th Dec 2015 07:01
I've recently set up a Cent OS 6.7 server to play with. It's been a long time since I've played with linux, so assume I'm a newbie. I installed samba using yum. Aside from changing the workgroup in the smb.conf file, I haven't done anything else. By default, there's already one share setup. (eventually I'll be sharing my web files folder as I have Apache running)
Default share:

I'm using Putty to access the server via SSH, so I know my connections are fine. But I can't access my share. I verified that the smb service is running. When I try to access it with Win7: \\10.0.1.3\homes it just says network error windows cannot access \\10.0.1.3\

\"I like offending people, because I think people who get offended should be offended.\" - Linus Torvalds
Van B
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 11th Dec 2015 12:13
I had a couple of issues like this, setting up wifi access to some documents (production specifications and instructions) on Android tablets. I ended up just forcing an admin account to get around the user access restrictions. Maybe worth trying an account with admin privileges and see if that lets you access it... then perhaps even setup an account just for that access and apply it to any device or PC when accessing the server. User permissions and trust relationships can be a minefield, I was lucky in that the data being accessed is disposable, it can be re-uploaded if it gets corrupted or interfered with, so having an admin account privilege sidestepped the issues with minimal risk.
Phaelax
DBPro Master
Years of Service
User Offline