Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / How to Use Animated Sprites on a 3D Plane Object (I have no exp with 3D Objects and AGK2)

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 5th Feb 2016 18:39
Hello,

I tried searching the forums for this, but I couldn't find anything. I remember someone asking a while ago, but I suppose my search phrases were just wrong.

Anyway I would like to use a 3D Plane Object with animated 2D sprites "projected"(?) onto it. The 3D documentation examples are waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay out of date using re-purposed/refactored/non-existent methods, so I am stuck. As I said I have zero experience with 3D and AGK2.

Why do I want to do this? Currently I am implementing screen shake functionality by way of moving sprites around in random x and y directions then returning them to their original positions previous to being shaken. Ideally I would just like to utilize a camera for this rather than changing the position of every single active sprite... I have other ideas for how 3D could help me out in this and other projects. If there is even a way to get physics to work doing this, that would be really cool (not keeping my hopes up, though). Another option I've considered is using blender to make 3D objects of my sprites, but I'd like to avoid that process. Although, it could also open more possibilities for adding that extra pizzaz to my project.

Thanks ahead of time!
Digital Awakening
AGK Developer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 5th Feb 2016 23:58
Why not just using SetViewOffset() if all you want to do is move the camera in 2D?
mrradd
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Feb 2016 01:05
Quote: "Why not just using SetViewOffset() if all you want to do is move the camera in 2D?"