Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers AppGameKit Corner / Please explain Tier concept

Author
Message
Morcilla
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2002
Location: Spain
Posted: 7th Apr 2016 10:00
Hi,

I'm reading here and there about AppGameKit Tier 1 and Tier 2.

Please could you explain the differences between them and what are these 'tiers' about?
Are they just like AppGameKit 'versions' or is it a different concept?

Many thanks.
BatVink
Moderator
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 7th Apr 2016 11:34
Nice to see you on the AppGameKit side!

It is just like DBPro and DarkGDK (DBPro for C++)

Tier 1 is like DBPro. It is a BASIC language, but the syntax is a little bit different to DBPro. You will learn it in just a couple of hours. For example, SYNC RATE is SetSyncRate()
Tier 2 is all of the C++ libraries for AGK. It is the same idea as DarkGDK.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Quidquid latine dictum sit, altum sonatur
TutCity is being rebuilt
Morcilla
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2002
Location: Spain
Posted: 8th Apr 2016 10:48
Quote: "Nice to see you on the AppGameKit side!"


Thanks for the head-up Steve!
Yes indeed I'm interested in AppGameKit, but I'm always thinking in 3d, that's why I didn't land here before.
I have a terrible lack of time, but I have a game idea that I would like to roll out.

Also, thanks for the clarification

I see the .lib for MS Visual Studio at the trial installation, so I guess that both Tiers come together when you buy AppGameKit, and that Tier 2 is developed using Visual Studio, instead of the AppGameKit IDE, right?

However, I cannot see any 'Help' folder for Tier 2

Can you point where is the documentation for AppGameKit Tier 2?

Also, I wonder how Tier 2 programs can be exported to Android from Visual Studio.

Thanks again
BatVink
Moderator
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 8th Apr 2016 12:28 Edited at: 9th Apr 2016 18:34
Quote: "Can you point where is the documentation for AppGameKit Tier 2?"


At the top of each command in the help, there is a toggle button for Basic or C++.

I don't know anything about Tier 2, hopefully somebody else can help you. There is this help page for Android and C++
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Quidquid latine dictum sit, altum sonatur
TutCity is being rebuilt
Morcilla
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2002
Location: Spain
Posted: 11th Apr 2016 10:17
Very useful, thank you.
hakimfullmetal
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Feb 2015
Location:
Posted: 22nd Apr 2016 18:17
I have one concern though regarding Tier concept.

If someone can use Tier 2, that means they can probably make whatever they want, even if it's not in Tier 1 ability.
Someone using Tier 1 will never be able to use extra plugins outside of what already in Tier 1.

But in DBPro, people can make a plugin in C++, and share them for use in BASIC language.

Isn't this really constricting?
I mean, there is no way for Tier 1 community to improve their arsenal with external plugin.

I think AppGameKit will be able to be expanded greatly if we can make community-made plugins, like DBPro.
That way, extra features will not be burdened on Paul, and he can concentrates on core matters.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-06-20 16:11:10
Your offset time is: 2019-06-20 16:11:10