Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers AppGameKit Corner / Functions inside types

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hello,
I'm very new to App Game Kit. Since I've used Lua, Python and a few other languages before I'm used to writing classes that don't only contain variables but also functions.
In App Game Kit 2 however I get error messages when I try to do something like this:

type myType
x
y
function setX(x)
endfunction
endtype

Is there any workaround? For my game I need a lot of collision detection (without physics) and writing a function for every single objects would be too much work und not very effective.
Thank you for any help
Max123
Years of Service
User Offline
And I would have another question:
I would like to use parameters in functions that are types:

block1 as block
player as Player

function collision(object1, object2)
if object1.x (and so on)
endfunction

collision(block1, player)

Can I do something like this?
Dybing
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Apr 2016 15:59
To your first question, the simple answer is no. AppGameKit is a procedural language, so data is entirely separate from functions - unlike object oriented languages where these can be conjoined into a class.

In AppGameKit and other procedural languages, data is data and actions are actions.

The 'workaround' is to pass two (or more) datatypes into a function that then check for collisions between the two. You don't need a separate function for each datatype. More or less as you outlined in your second question
Max123
Years of Service
User Offline
Thank you for your answer
The "example" I posted doesn't work. I always get an error message that states: "object1 has been defined as an integer, not a type"