Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Isometric tennis ball physics

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th May 2016 04:21 Edited at: 13th May 2016 05:01
Hi all. Im coming from blitz3d community and Mintoris Basic(Android Only).

Im not very good at programming but i do finish some silly game on blitz3d(3D) and apps on Mintoris Basic.
Now im interested on creating 2d game and really want to remake a classic NES Tennis Games as in pic. My question is on how to achieve Isometric ball movement in this view(unlike top view pong game)?Thanks

Attachments

Login to view attachments
BatVink
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th May 2016 07:08 Edited at: 14th May 2016 01:10
Welcome.
The simplest way to achieve this is to use 3D, then the angle of the display does not matter.
If you want total control of the ball in order to make a retro style game rather than realistic simulation, you can do it without physics.
There is a recent thread in this board about Isometric movement.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Quidquid latine dictum sit, altum sonatur
TutCity is being rebuilt
Van B
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th May 2016 08:54
It is possible to set the FOV of the camera real narrow, then move it back a lot, which will mimic a isometric view by reducing the 3D effect. That way you could use 3D but maintain a retro 2D look, much like Crossy Road and other retro arcade games. That's what I would do if making a retro isometric game, using 3D has so many advantages, compared to 2D isometric with the Z depth issues and having to draw sprites... much easier to use 3D and 3D models.