Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers AppGameKit Corner / Question about Basic's

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Playing: X-Com, WOW-Legion
Posted: 27th Jun 2016 16:34
I am a potential customer and curious about theAppGameKit development product.

I am an old-school VB programmer, used to program VB back 15 years ago in the VB4 days https://web.archive.org/web/20040215014903/http://markbutler.8m.com/vb-tutorial.htm and I am thinking of having some fun and getting back into it a bit. Might try my hand at something like a cross-platform version of the old Might and Magic Worlds of Xeen.

My question is around "AGK Basic" and "Dark Basic" - are they different languages? According to a question I posted to the helpline, AppGameKit is bundled with the AppGameKit. Yet many of the threads I see on the forum discuss Dark Basic coding, do people use Dark Basic to program for the AppGameKit instead of or in addition to AppGameKit? Is there a set of strengths that would make one better than the other for various types of game creation?

Mark
BatVink
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 27th Jun 2016 17:36
Welcome

The timeline is:

1999 (ish) - DarkBASIC Classic released (DBC)
2002 (ish) - DarkBASIC Professional released (DBPro)
2011 - AppGameKit (also known as AppGameKit) released (AGK)

DBC and DBPro are essentially the same language. DBPro is technically better, and was vastly improved over the years. They are both PC-only, based on DirectX

AGK is the new member of the family, and the biggest difference is that it is cross-platform (PC, Mac, iOS, Android, Blackberry, Linux, Raspberry Pi).