Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / two bad things about AGK

Author
Message
Alduce
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Oct 2002
Location: Rama spaceship
Posted: 10th Jul 2016 16:51
I am a bit confused..
I am really close to buy AppGameKit, I really would do it but..
two things blocking me:

1) Where the hell are the commands for handle the shadows?? cry

2) The 3D phisics is just a little thing if I can't use it on a height map!

About the shadows I find some guys here trying to obtain something using complex code.. but nothing yet can be consider good enough

About physic yeah is less bad of what I thinking about but can't fit it on a terrain like a heightmap.

I find AppGameKit just GREAT, I can develope an app really fast with good performances but, being sincere.. Can a 2016 3D app game be without propely shadows?
What do you think?
janbo
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Nov 2008
Location: Germany
Posted: 10th Jul 2016 21:18 Edited at: 13th Jul 2016 21:45
For the shadow thing:
You can make your own shadow shader like I did.

But it is not ready to share jet and I don't know if I give it away so easy or not
sometimes I do ^^


TGC would create a shader for it like they did with lighting
Creating own shaders is better than rely on one of AGK's shaders because as soon as you need not only lighting and shadows but normal mapping or something else you can not go with the build in one.
As I understand shaders you can only apply one per object/mesh.
Anny variation of shader would have to be made by TGC...
If they do a shadow shader I want a whole bunch more shaders from them/Paul

But TGC could provide shaders for someone who only need the very basic lighting and very basic shadows

And they should fix that Terrain thing

Using AGKv2 Tier1

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Stab in the Dark software
Valued Member
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Dec 2002
Playing: Badges, I don't need no stinkin badges
Posted: 10th Jul 2016 22:06
3D physics works on a terrain with no problems.
The coffee is lovely dark and deep,and I have code to write before I sleep.
janbo
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Nov 2008
Location: Germany
Posted: 11th Jul 2016 12:27
Good to know that it works for you, but for me it crashes after setting the terrain as static body with Create3DPhysicsStaticBody(TerrainObjectID)
How am I supposed to make the terrain work with physics ?
Load a collision mesh or can the terrain size be an issue ?

Using AGKv2 Tier1
Stab in the Dark software
Valued Member
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Dec 2002
Playing: Badges, I don't need no stinkin badges
Posted: 11th Jul 2016 15:44
janbo
You must be doing something wrong. Please post a code example and I can discover the problem.
The coffee is lovely dark and deep,and I have code to write before I sleep.
janbo
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Nov 2008
Location: Germany
Posted: 11th Jul 2016 21:15
If I just just add:
Create3DPhysicsWorld()
Create3DPhysicsStaticBody(1)
Step3DPhysicsWorld()
to the Terrain demo it happens

Using AGKv2 Tier1
Stab in the Dark software
Valued Member
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Dec 2002
Playing: Badges, I don't need no stinkin badges
Posted: 11th Jul 2016 23:32
Which terrain demo?
What is the error message?
Are you running it in debug mode?
The coffee is lovely dark and deep,and I have code to write before I sleep.
janbo
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Nov 2008
Location: Germany
Posted: 12th Jul 2016 14:31 Edited at: 12th Jul 2016 14:31

Message: Terrain.exe does not work anymore
No debug mode, but nothing changes if I do

Using AGKv2 Tier1
Stab in the Dark software
Valued Member
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Dec 2002
Playing: Badges, I don't need no stinkin badges
Posted: 12th Jul 2016 15:46
Reduce the size of Mexico.png to 1024 x 1024 and it will work.
When using a very high detail height map at a large image size
creates a very high poly object that exceeds the physics engines
capabilities.
The coffee is lovely dark and deep,and I have code to write before I sleep.
janbo
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Nov 2008
Location: Germany
Posted: 12th Jul 2016 16:08 Edited at: 12th Jul 2016 16:09
Ah I knew It ^^
It works now thanks

@Alduce: so no excuses anymore

Using AGKv2 Tier1
Alduce
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Oct 2002
Location: Rama spaceship
Posted: 13th Jul 2016 01:54 Edited at: 13th Jul 2016 01:54
...
Alduce
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Oct 2002
Location: Rama spaceship
Posted: 13th Jul 2016 01:54
Hey ok so the physics on heightmap is working but the shadows..

@janbo :
your shadows are great but HOW the hell you made that?
Can you share some basic code?

@Stab in the Dark software:
Thx for trick!
janbo
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Nov 2008
Location: Germany
Posted: 13th Jul 2016 17:18 Edited at: 13th Jul 2016 21:41
I can share knowledge... (nothing of it is basic)
And code comes if I warped it all up in nice functions I think
And I struggle a bit with keeping the shadows in view frustum.

Using AGKv2 Tier1
Alduce
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Oct 2002
Location: Rama spaceship
Posted: 13th Jul 2016 18:41
@janbo : I assume that there are some issues about using your way to make the shadows; not yet ready = some bugs about?
I am really shocked by that shadows command absence.. AppGameKit is just amazing and it's hard to think that you can make all 3D things excepts shadows..
I am looking to find a way to get just a fictitious shadows but I notice that remain an HARD thing to do.
Jack
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Oct 2004
Location: [Germany]
Posted: 13th Jul 2016 20:29 Edited at: 13th Jul 2016 20:37
Alduce,
you can code shadows in GLSL and implement it in your AppGameKit engine, so AppGameKit has shadows.
If you expect something like a setobjectshadowon(obj) command, then it will suck like the native shadow in DBP sucked.
I belive you'll have to wait for something like evolved shadows for AppGameKit or code your own implementation. AppGameKit does good work providing
useful functions to operate OpenGL.


3d math, isn't it? Matrix commands? I could help you with that, once I got more time (next week)

[/url]
Alduce
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Oct 2002
Location: Rama spaceship
Posted: 13th Jul 2016 20:47
Hi Jack, thank you for your answer.

Yeah I could to learn and use GLSL and make my own shadow shader but I never face the shader matter.
I am a fan of AppGameKit and of DarkBasicPro too; but I can't imagine a 3D game without shadows and this bloking me to use AGK.
I used so mutch DBP and damn! I got some good shadows there So I can't understand WHY agk programmers can't do that!
Over that I not see some big upgrade ahead (like a theoretical AGK3)

I hope next week you can write some basic example code! thank you
Jack
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Oct 2004
Location: [Germany]
Posted: 14th Jul 2016 12:23
Quote: "
Yeah I could to learn and use GLSL and make my own shadow shader but I never face the shader matter."


Just do it, it's a powerful addition. If you are in 3d programming, this will be a huge step. I know it's hard and after some years of learning, I am still at the beginning, but
remember, that shaders are used by the GPU and you can save a lot of performance by using them.

Quote: " So I can't understand WHY agk programmers can't do that!"

The main struggle for AppGameKit programmers are the missing 3d math commands. DBP had some very good and deep functions to create a view frustrum for example.
AGK will have them, but 3d is still "new" to AppGameKit and not all features are implemented. We have a thread called "advanced math functions", not far away from the first page, where we try to copy
and create all the missing 3d math commands, but the code is still beta, not complete and not debugged. Once this is done, we could already start to build really good 3d shaders and
port them later to native functions! If you are good at math, please contribute to this thread so we could create more shaders in the near future.

Quote: "Over that I not see some big upgrade ahead"

As I already mentioned, AGK2 has nearly everything to get serious in 3d programming, learn glsl!!!

Quote: "I hope next week you can write some basic example code! thank you"

I would also like to help janbo with the 3d math portation to glsl, it will be a little bit slower than with native commands,
but it will work well once debugged!




[/url]
Alduce
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Oct 2002
Location: Rama spaceship
Posted: 18th Jul 2016 18:00
Hi Jack, I tried to get something good with GLSL but this is over my limits..
I tried to make a simple math to obtain something similar to a shadows for my objects too but yet I can't handle all that

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-07-10 09:59:14
Your offset time is: 2020-07-10 09:59:14