Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Any easy-to-follow tutorial or introduction to shaders?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 5th Aug 2016 19:09
Hi all,

I want to learn about shaders and how to use them. I just don't know where to look.

I've read the one page about shaders in AGK's documentation but I didn't find it very useful (sorry). I tried googling for tutorials also but I didn't find anything easy for a total noob to follow. I'd like to find some tutorials or comprehensive examples like 'when to use shaders' or step-by-step guides for how to create a part or a whole sprite look wet, or how to create top-down water ripples. Well, I don't probably want to create this kind of effects right from the beginning but to slowly start getting knowledge about shaders from ground up.

Thank you for your time.
Mah machine: Intel Xeon E3-1231v3 4x3.40GHz | CM Hyper 212 Evo | ASRock H97 Pro4 | 240GB SanDisk SSD | Sapphire Radeon R9 270X Dual-X 2048MB | Seagate HDD 1000GB |
8GB Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600
Stab in the Dark software
Valued Member
Years of Service
User Offline
Playing: Badges, I don't need no stinkin badges
Posted: 5th Aug 2016 23:12
There is no point in developing shaders for Tier1 as it is lacking key functionality to use shaders.
You would need to use Teir2 which is C++ to get access to the matrix commands.
The coffee is lovely dark and deep,and I have code to write before I sleep.
CJB
Valued Member
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Aug 2016 00:04
Quote: "There is no point in developing shaders for Tier1 as it is lacking key functionality to use shaders."