Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers AppGameKit Corner / Trying to make a clicker game, the game slows down severly (i am talking like 8-10 FPS) slow when the numbers get even as high as 1000

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 17th Aug 2016 13:03 Edited at: 17th Aug 2016 13:10
Hey guys, i am totally new to game making. I've been trying to make a game clicker one. So far i have the basics down and have prototype programmed the basics.

THe problem i am facing is as the numbers get a bit higher the FPS drops to a crawl. I think i am programming way too inefficiently. Is this an engine limitation and perhaps should i pick another language to code in altogether? Or is there any magical option i am missing in AppGameKit?

I am clicking on the main button and the counter increases by 1. I can litereally see a 10FPS drop when i get to 50 or higher count. This keeps on happening until the total FPS are dropeed down to below 10 FPS. THe CPU consumption of the application is also shooting through the roof.

My code can be seen below, i would highly appreciate any help.

Thugnificent
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 17th Aug 2016 13:26 Edited at: 17th Aug 2016 14:10
Ok did some google'ing around. Seems i have put the load images in the do loop and this sort of makes a memory leak.

Commenting out everything except the counter didn't make the FPS crawl after 50 clicks.

I think i have to load the sprites out of the do loop, anyone know an idea to load one sprite after a variable is at a certain number or above?

Can the above code be done without puttig it in the main Do Loop?