Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers AppGameKit Corner / Running infinite loop within mainloop

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi, I am pretty new to AGK2 and programming in general but managed so far to program a "chase-game" where a guy collects coins while an enemy is trying to catch him

To juice the whole thing up, I want to add barriers after a certain score level and even further barriers which move from left to right and back.

The problem now is, I managed to code a barrier that shifts back and forth within a for loop but since this back and forth movement shall be infinete (as long as the game is running) it get's stuck in this for loop. So I need a way to start an infinite loop within the main loop. Is that even possible? I read about multithreading and stuff but this kind of skills are still lightyears away for me.

Would appreciate any help. Thanks in advance!
BatVink
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 30th Oct 2016 08:51 Edited at: 30th Oct 2016 08:51
Welcome to the forums.
To make sure your posts are seen, you should post in AppGameKit Chat or AppGameKit Newcomers corner. This board is for mainly DarkBASIC (and was created before AppGameKit existed).
I will move the post in a while, but leave it here for the time being so you don't lose track of it.
Let us know if you are using Tier 1 (Basic) or Tier 2 (C++)

Firstly, you can't multi-thread AppGameKit, it is not thread-safe. Internally it is doing weird and wonderful things, but at the level we interact with it, it is not possible.