Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers AppGameKit Corner / What is the "trick" to getting HTML5 games to run in web browser from website

Author
AGK Developer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 10th Dec 2016 07:52 Edited at: 10th Dec 2016 08:06
Hello. I am hoping someone can provide some guidance.

I just started playing around with AppGameKit about a week ago. I have a tiny game project I am working on a bit here & there.

Now the programming and all is no issue at all. Everything is coming along very well. The game runs fine on my computer as both a Windows application and in Firefox running locally.

However, tonight I decided to upload it to my website because I was thinking of doing a little work in progress thing and let people try it out.

When I run in Firefox locally like I said it works fine. Here is a video of it in action (sorry I have no idea how to use the Video tag to embed it tried but it did not work):

[video=https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xf83WFy7bCE] <-- doesn't seem to work
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xf83WFy7bCE

As you can see it is just a tiny retro style game. You take on the role of a farmer throwing pitchforks up into the sky to take care of those pesky attacking crows who just happen to be dropping exploding eggs.

You have 5 pitchforks available and have to collect them after using them. They respawn in fixed locations.

Anyway, the issue is when I try to run the game from my website it loads and immediately errors out.

I can't make any sense out of this error message. It seems to be describing something in a fair amount of detail yet at the same time all of the text is telling me nothing.