Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers AppGameKit Corner / Advice on developing first game with AGK - Card game

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi guys,

I am new to AppGameKit and app development in general, so I am searching for some advice on how to best tackle my first game which will be specifically for iOS and Android. The concept is pretty simple:

- It will be a card game, with a deck of 50-100 cards randomly shuffled each game and facing down
- The view of the game will be a top down view of the deck of cards
- To flip a card the player whose turn it is will double tap the card
- The player must then complete the task. i.e like charades
- Once completed, that player swipes the card off the screen and hands the phone to the next player

The part I am seeking advice on is the action of flipping the card. Executing the double tap is no problem, but I would like the flip itself to be animated. It should look as though the card has been lifted off the deck and turned over horizontally. Maybe a 2-3 second animation. I think it would be a nice touch. What would be the best way to create this? Also, how best to render an entire deck of cards and shuffle them randomly?

Thanks!

Shiftenrych

BatVink
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 11th Jan 2017 20:23 Edited at: 11th Jan 2017 20:23
Welcome

Quote: "The part I am seeking advice on is the action of flipping the card"

If you are working in 2D you need to give the illusion of a turning card. I would use 2 actions:

1. Increase the size of the card then decrease it again. this gives the illusion of the card rising as you turn it. Try a 10% increase and see how it looks