Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers AppGameKit Corner / Following AGK 2 tutorial guide

Author
Message
Steven
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th May 2004
Location: Glasgow
Posted: 13th Jan 2017 00:40
Wonder if anyone can help, I'm trying to follow the start of the AppGameKit 2 tutorial guide from Alastair Stewart and its basically the very first project 'Hello world'. When i'm going to run the program, it doesnt come up printing Hello world, it just comes up with a counter that goes up to 30 then back down again

This is the code that is from the book with the print function modified for the activity


// Project: FirstProject
// Created: 2017-01-12

// show all errors
SetErrorMode(2)

// set window properties
SetWindowTitle( "FirstProject" )
SetWindowSize( 1024, 768, 0 )

// set display properties
SetVirtualResolution( 1024, 768 )
SetOrientationAllowed( 1, 1, 1, 1 )
SetSyncRate( 30, 0 ) // 30fps instead of 60 to save battery
UseNewDefaultFonts( 1 ) // since version 2.0.22 we can use nicer default fonts



do


Print("Hello world")
Sync()

loop

I cant see anything wrong with it and why it would show a counter instead of Hello world? anyone else have this problem, it's basically simple code so weird why its doing numbers,

Cheers Steven
computercoder
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Dec 2014
Location: USA - NC
Posted: 13th Jan 2017 05:21
Steven,

I copied the code and pasted it into a new code document. I ran it and it gives me a window with HELLO WORLD in the upper left corner of the window.

Have you tried re-installing AppGameKit?
hoyoyo80
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th May 2016
Location:
Posted: 13th Jan 2017 06:39
Weird...it should work by looking at the code so i copy n paste it and...still work. Maybe video card?
Steven
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th May 2004
Location: Glasgow
Posted: 13th Jan 2017 06:50
I'm on a Alienware M14X R2, with a Geforce GT 650M and integrated Inel HD 4000 cards. Using AppGameKit through steam, would steam have anything to do it with it?
hoyoyo80
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th May 2016
Location:
Posted: 13th Jan 2017 07:31
Can you set gt650 as main gpu to run AppGameKit Windows.Exe (in steam installation folder).Sorry im just guessing.
Lucas Tiridath
AGK Developer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Sep 2008
Location: Kings Langley, UK
Posted: 13th Jan 2017 07:44 Edited at: 13th Jan 2017 07:44
Hi Steven. From what you've said, it sounds like it's either running the wrong project or not compiling your project correctly. I'm sorry if this is really obvious, but can you check that your current project is set correctly in the IDE?

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Steven
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th May 2004
Location: Glasgow
Posted: 13th Jan 2017 23:29
Cheers, Lucas, you set me on the right path for getting it sorted, cheers

Steven

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-04-23 11:39:58
Your offset time is: 2024-04-23 11:39:58