Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers AppGameKit Corner / Help: Learning coding 2d games via remaking Ninja Gaiden NES

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi..im still learning on doing 2d game and i picked to remake Ninja Gaiden(NES) since it most appealling to me to learn other than mario. So here is all the code and media but here are the things that i want to know:

1.Im loading the collision data via CSV .For the level background,i use png and plan to use several pngs untill the end of the loading from tileset(which i dont know how).Is this method is right?
2.For the character, im using raycast from sprite mid offset, but i notice that something im a little bit above collision tiles and sometimes a little bit inside the collision tiles
3.Can someone give me a good jumping code instead the one that im using?

Thanks

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Phaelax
DBPro Master
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Feb 2017 13:23
What generates your collision data in the CSV? Where is that coming from?

You probably don't need to raycast the character movement given the style of game. For an old NES game, typically a simple tile-based collision system will work. A few simple checks can tell you what side of a tile the player collided with, which you can use that info to determine if the ninja should stick onto a wall or not.

"I like offending people, because I think people who get offended should be offended." - Linus Torvalds
hoyoyo80
Years of Service
User Offline