Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / boolean and enum types...

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 10th Mar 2017 19:38
...are both sadly missing from AGK.

I've been away for too long I realize - just started today to make a frontend in AppGameKit for a backend done in Go, which I've been tinkering with now for a few months.

Anyhow, I soon re-discovered that my dear old friends, the bool and enum are MIA in AGK. Both are very dear friends, and I feel terribly lonely without them.

Bool is so nice for flags, and use in conditionals. No need for the comparator, just plop it in and done, it's either true or false by its' very nature.

And for control-structures the enum is my go-to guy. Saves the mess of selecting on obscure numeric values or through the slowness of comparing strings. Enums make code easier to read, and cuts the potential for bugs.

Any chance me and my friends can get together in AppGameKit?
Stab in the Dark software
Valued Member
Years of Service
User Offline
Playing: Badges, I don't need no stinkin badges
Posted: 10th Mar 2017 20:41
Are you talking about Teir1 or Tier2. Elaborate
The coffee is lovely dark and deep,and I have code to write before I sleep.
Dybing
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 10th Mar 2017 21:34 Edited at: 10th Mar 2017 21:38
Tier 1 obviously - in Tier 2 you got the full force and bewildering options of C++ rev.11. Why I use Go for backend stuff, I just can't keep up with C++ anymore

(edit and off topic: in Go v1.8 there was an entire new feature; sort a slice. That was it. I love it )
Stab in the Dark software
Valued Member
Years of Service
User Offline
Playing: Badges, I don't need no stinkin badges
Posted: 10th Mar 2017 21:43
Quote: "Go v1.8"