Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Simple object collision

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd Mar 2017 11:48
Hello

I want to explain a little bit of the situation before I ask my question:

I am making a MMORPG environment, so object collision is both server side (for important collisions, walls, fences, etc) and client side (client side includes all server side collisions + collisions that don't matter for cheating, tree, table, etc)
I stayed away from physics right now, because I don't need advanced physics in my environment. I'm pretty new to AppGameKit and 3D development, and there are a lot of things I don't understand about physics in the documentation.

I just want to know if an object collides with another object, my tought process is now this:
-Create all my objects that collide as static physics objects
-Set a collisionshape for every object (a collision shape that resembles the real object)
-check collision on client side via contactsreports

Questions:
Is the ScaleFactor of the 3DPhysicsWorld important for static bodies? I use 1 unit = 1 metre everywhere.

What should I do on server side? My server isn't written in AGK. I read that it is possible to export a.bcs file, but I cannot find any information on how to parse this file myself. Is this a AppGameKit file format, is it documented somewhere?

Is it possible to not use physics altogether but use raycasting of some sort? I just need very simple collision, nothing fancy.

Thanks for your insight!
Markus
Valued Member
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd Mar 2017 12:17 Edited at: 22nd Mar 2017 12:19
easy way is Circle-Line Intersection or Circle-Circle Intersection as Function. or distance - radius1 -radius 2 < 0