Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers AppGameKit Corner / Percentage screen and world questions

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I am new to app game kit, but I am programmer professionally and i have made a game that's out there using LibGdx. I wanted a framework that makes it easier for me to create games and so far I'm impressed with App Game Kit. One area that I'm struggling a little bit with is the percentage positioning system. Looking trough the documentation it seems to indicate that world coordinates are from 0 to 100 in both the xy axises. But then in places I read that screen space is also 0 to 100. What I am wondering if I want to build a world that is bigger than the view port, how do I specify positions off of the screen, but in the world, when I place sprites ?

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.
programming is ace
User Banned
Posted: 23rd Apr 2017 12:57
I think can get it by

objectwidth# / getdevicewidth() * 100

objectheight# / getdevicehieght() * 100

Maybe

RGBZ
Years of Service
User Offline
Thanks for the reply. I guess what I'm trying to get an understanding of is if the world is bigger than the viewport and I want to place the object in the world, but outside of the current viewport how do I do that?

Do you try to set the position at 120% or do you have to use some form of zooming to accomplish that with the percentage system?
PSY
Developer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 23rd Apr 2017 14:52
Just use values <0 and >100
PSY LABS Games
Coders don't die, they just gosub without return
RGBZ
Years of Service
User Offline
I will do that, thank you.
programming is ace
User Banned
Posted: 23rd Apr 2017 19:55