Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers AppGameKit Corner / Is there a 'concatenation' setting on AGK2? (a 'concatenation' , meaning a symbol such as an underline '_' or other symbol to enable a line of code to be continued onto the next line below it)

Author
Message
Bubba
Reviewed AGK on Steam
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jul 2005
Location: California, US
Posted: 15th Jul 2017 02:42
I would like to 'wrap - around' a line of code to the line following it, such as-
In order to do this, I will need to choose a 'concatenation symbol' such as and underline symbol ( _ ) or another symbol such as ( ^ )

Is such an option available on AGK2 ?


35 / my one dimensional array concatenation symbol at end of line 37 ( _ )
36
37 num as integer[40] = [ 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5 _
38 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5]
39
.
GarBenjamin
AGK Developer
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2016
Location: USA
Posted: 15th Jul 2017 05:47 Edited at: 15th Jul 2017 05:50
Just go to Edit->Preferences and check the box for the Line Wrapping option. Should be at the very top.

Then when you get to the end of the line it will automatically wrap around to the next line no special character needed although it will show a little return symbol at the end of the previous line.

I know that is not exactly what you want. What you describe reminds me of VB6 where an underscore _ is used at the end of the line. Not sure if that is supported or not.
TI/994a (BASIC) -> C64 (BASIC/PASCAL/ASM/Others) -> Amiga (AMOS/BLITZ/ASM/C/Gamesmith) -> DOS (C/C++/Allegro) -> Windows (C++/C#/Monkey X/GL Basic/Unity/Others)
PartTimeCoder
AGK Tool Maker
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2015
Location: London UK
Posted: 22nd Jul 2017 11:35
Quote: " Not sure if that is supported or not."


Just use a new line, it works exactly as it does in PHP, Java and Lua

this is valid syntax


Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2021-12-02 10:28:52
Your offset time is: 2021-12-02 10:28:52