Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Virtual button held down but variable does not inc or dec even though in a Do/Loop

Author
Message
yoda333
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Apr 2012
Location:
Posted: 13th Aug 2017 05:21 Edited at: 13th Aug 2017 05:22
Hello
I have some virtual buttons that increment or decrement a variable when pressed once. If I hold down the button, I would like to continue changing the variables value
and sync the screen to reflect this. For some reason this doesn't appear to work correctly.

My website for testing is here
[href=http://webtesting4livesite.com/ ]http://webtesting4livesite.com/ [/href]
to get a better idea of what I'm trying to do.

Thanks yoda333

fubarpk
Retired Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Playing: AGK is my friend
Posted: 13th Aug 2017 06:28 Edited at: 13th Aug 2017 07:10
integer GetButtonState( index )

1 is returned if down 0 otherwise

and your code only needs one sync preferable just before the loop command
using sync that much will kill any frame rate

try something like the following


also
Quote: "elseif isn't always the solution"

elseif is great if you have a new condition to check true
but for your example there is no point as its better to use
when there is multiple conditions and multiple states



an example of when case cant be used and elseif is the better choice


GOODLUCK with your project
fubar
yoda333
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Apr 2012
Location:
Posted: 13th Aug 2017 07:06
Thanks fubrpk

GetVirtualButtonState(1) = 1 does the trick.



Cheers
yoda333

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-04-25 02:23:00
Your offset time is: 2024-04-25 02:23:00