Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Google Play in-app purchases and tax

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hello

I've created a game that has in-app purchases and I've set myself up as a sole trader. I am completely new to being self-employed (I also work full time) and I've just been reading on Google about tax on in-app purchases. I'm freaking out a bit because I don't really understand it, it seems very complicated. Different countries with different requirements, registering with different tax services. I'm scared I'm not prepared for this. Can someone give me some advice on what to do?

Many thanks.
Invizion
Years of Service
User Offline
As I know, when you put something to sell in Google Play (App or IAP), think the value not includes the tax of the country.

For exemple:
You have an item being sold for $1 (USD)
Country 1: Tax of 20%
Country 2: Tax of 5%

This mean that the final price of the item will be different for those two countries:
Country 1: $1 + 20% = $1.20
Country 2 : $1 + 5% = 1$.05

Basically you have two choices:
Set a base price that will increase for each country tax or set the price based in each country tax so the final price will be the same.
Please note that all your earnings should be taxable (depending in your country of course)
JohnnyMeek
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Aug 2017 13:11
Sales tax is deducted and paid by Google where needed.

Xaron
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Aug 2017 16:01
Yes but you still have pay taxes on top of that.
MikeHart
AGK Bronze Backer
Years of Service
User Offline
Look for the tax consultant. Only them can tell you what to do exactly.