Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Can AGK Tier 1 do functional programming or OOP? What is the best way to code?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hey everyone,

I'm kinda self taught, especially learnt most of what I know back in the days of DarkBASIC 1, anyways, I've been using AppGameKit the past few months...
I think I'm fairly familiar with it, but just in case I missed something,
I'd like to know:
1. Is AppGameKit (Tier 1) capable of functional programming?
2. Is AppGameKit (Tier 1) capable of object oriented programming?
3. What is the best, cleanest and safest coding method to use with AppGameKit Tier 1?

Cheers
Westa
Years of Service
User Offline
Tier1 is not really OOP. Though it does have a concept of data structures.

Its not unlike BASIC in its syntax with functions for subroutines.

If you want OOP - then I would personally say go Tier 2 - its a bit steeper learning curve - and more platform specific - but the end results tend to make it worth the effort - especially in terms of performance - you dont have the pcode style interpreter overhead.

Westa
Xaron
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st Sep 2017 18:41
Tier 1 is not only "not really OOP" it's not OOP at all.

Tier 1 is not capable of OOP and it's not capable of functional programming. Don't know if you really mean functional programming here or procedural programming. Functional languages are pretty exotic (like F#).

If you go with Tier 1, the safest way is to use #option_explicit which force you to declarate variables before you can use them.
Dybing
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st Sep 2017 19:02 Edited at: 1st Sep 2017 19:03