Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / My website is in a book, neat!

Author
DBPro Master
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Sep 2017 20:08
I was trying to pull up my website and mistyped it by accident and so it google searched it. Saw my site address popup on a google book.
https://books.google.com/books?id=Q3FuBgAAQBAJ&pg=PA178&lpg=PA178&dq=zimnox.com&source=bl&ots=SjBv40-dKw&sig=pCcAY0Rv4f73Q74BmhHl3ewiNBA&hl=en&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjzutjEqqDWAhWLZiYKHasiBN4Q6AEIRzAG#v=onepage&q&f=false

It's a book on learning LibGDK and a small side note points to one of my articles on bit-shifting. I wonder if I can tell folks I'm a published author now :p

"I like offending people, because I think people who get offended should be offended." - Linus Torvalds
BatVink
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Sep 2017 14:04
You have taken it in good spirit
They are adding value to their publication from your work, without even being gracious enough to let you know.

Just think about the fun you could have by replacing that page on your website
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Quidquid latine dictum sit, altum sonatur
TutCity is being rebuilt
Phaelax
DBPro Master
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Sep 2017 19:56
Well my initial thought was hey where's my royalty check! But they're just pointing more traffic towards my site, it's free advertising for me. And I put that information out there freely to help people, so I'm not really bothered by it. It's just neat to see others outside my immediate online community utilizing my tutorials.